Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to integrate dynamic menu options with configurable products? 

Hadez

Total Posts:  14

Hi everyone.  I’m fairly new to Magento and have been able to find most answers on the forums, but this questions has pretty much lead me to no solution as of yet.

Assume you create a configurable product and associate 3 simple products with it and works fine.  The issue I’m having is when one of those simple products gets edited later with an additional option, it completely disappears from the associated list.

Example:

Product is Widget.  Once clicked you can configure options such as 3 colors: Red, Blue and Black.  So far so good.

Now, let’s say that there is a special option when choosing black where a customer gets 1 extra feature available: Glossy or Matte

When I add the custom radio button in the simple product for Black Widgets, it disappears from the associated list from Widget.  My goal is to have a that radio option to dynamically appear if a user chose ‘Black”.  Any way to do this?

Thanks.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

NeilA

Total Posts:  1372
Blue Mountains, Oz

Haven’t tried this, but does reassociating the edited simple product with the configurable product not fix it?

Cheers

Magento Community
Magento Community

Hadez

I thought the same thing...problem is that the product no longer shows up on the list on the bottom like the rest of them.

Magento Community
Magento Community

NeilA

Blue Mountains, Oz

You may have to search for it.