Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Product image upload button gone in 1.3.1
 
daypack
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Hi,

After upgrading to Magento 1.3.1 the buttons used to upload product images have gone. I’ve read pretty much all the forum posts concerning this and have unfortunately haven’t found anything that works.

I have upgraded my flash to version 10, which didn’t work, and downgraded make to 9, which also didn’t work, and now I’m back to 10.
I’ve tried in Firefox 3, IE7, Safari and Chrome with no luck. Even tried on another machine, that also didn’t work. I even tried replacing the ‘upload.phtml’ with the ‘upload.phtml’ from 1.6.1 which did bring back the buttons but they didn’t work.

Does anybody know a solution to this problem?

Thank you.
Gregory

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 
daypack - 23 April 2009 05:02 AM

Hi,

After upgrading to Magento 1.3.1 the buttons used to upload product images have gone. I’ve read pretty much all the forum posts concerning this and have unfortunately haven’t found anything that works.

I have upgraded my flash to version 10, which didn’t work, and downgraded make to 9, which also didn’t work, and now I’m back to 10.
I’ve tried in Firefox 3, IE7, Safari and Chrome with no luck. Even tried on another machine, that also didn’t work. I even tried replacing the ‘upload.phtml’ with the ‘upload.phtml’ from 1.6.1 which did bring back the buttons but they didn’t work.

Does anybody know a solution to this problem?

Thank you.
Gregory

What version did you upgrade from?

verify that the uploader.swf file is there and current in {magentoroot}/skin/adminhtml/default/default/media/

cool smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
daypack
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Thanks for the quick reply.

I’ve upgraded from 1.2.1.
Double checked the uploader.swf and it’s there.

Little bit of a lose about this.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 
daypack - 23 April 2009 03:31 PM

Thanks for the quick reply.

I’ve upgraded from 1.2.1.
Double checked the uploader.swf and it’s there.

Little bit of a lose about this.

It may be there, but you need to double check and make sure that it is the right version.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pesz
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-10-12
 
jballotti - 24 April 2009 05:33 AM

daypack - 23 April 2009 03:31 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I’ve upgraded from 1.2.1.
Double checked the uploader.swf and it’s there.

Little bit of a lose about this.

It may be there, but you need to double check and make sure that it is the right version.

pls explain how shall i do that?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 
pesz - 24 April 2009 11:12 AM

jballotti - 24 April 2009 05:33 AM
daypack - 23 April 2009 03:31 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I’ve upgraded from 1.2.1.
Double checked the uploader.swf and it’s there.

Little bit of a lose about this.

It may be there, but you need to double check and make sure that it is the right version.

pls explain how shall i do that?

Download the full version of Magento to your local computer and decompress it. Find the file and check the file size and compare it to the size of the file on your server. There is also a program call Windows Grep that you can download and use for comparing files.

cool smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pesz
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-10-12
 

thx, i checked it and all the files in that folder are up to date, but
* buttons are missing in firefox
* upload does not work in ie and opera

do you have an idea how to go on debugging?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 
pesz - 24 April 2009 11:40 AM

thx, i checked it and all the files in that folder are up to date, but
* buttons are missing in firefox
* upload does not work in ie and opera

do you have an idea how to go on debugging?

I once had the problem and it cleared up after I re-uploaded all the files in ../app/code/core/Mage/adminhtml
That’s the best I can do for you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pesz
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-10-12
 

tried but unfortunately it is not enough in my case :(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
skippybosco
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  796
Joined:  2008-10-03
 

@pesz: give this a try:

1) Download the Magento Cleanup Tool
2) Unzip magento-cleanup.php to the root of your Magento install
3) Browse to http://yourdomain.com/magento/magento-cleanup.php

It will validate permissions of all of your files as well as forcing a file level clearing of the various caches.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pesz
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-10-12
 

well, thx, it solved the problem of the missing buttons in firefox, but upload does not work yet.

instead of uploading the selected image a popup window comes up including html source code of an admin login page.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
skippybosco
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  796
Joined:  2008-10-03
 

Glad to hear it worked, at least part way.

Are you trying from IE or FF? Now that your cache and permissions are squared away for the server, try doing the same for your browser.. clear your browser cache and close and reopen. If you are using IE, try FF and visa versa.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pesz
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2008-10-12
 

it was not the right medicine for me. but i found the solution in another thread. needed to change php setting like:

suhosin.session.cryptua Off

now it works perfectly.

thanks for all your help guys!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Wallace Goh
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-11-05
 
skippybosco - 24 April 2009 02:51 PM

@pesz: give this a try:

1) Download the Magento Cleanup Tool
2) Unzip magento-cleanup.php to the root of your Magento install
3) Browse to http://yourdomain.com/magento/magento-cleanup.php

It will validate permissions of all of your files as well as forcing a file level clearing of the various caches.

Hai,
Thanks because it was solve my problem.

Regards,
Wallace

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mechatech
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-06-08
 

Solved more than one of my problems actually. I was getting the flex library not loaded as well as the no browse and upload buttons for images in firefox.

magento cleanup fixed everything!

Makes me wonder why the magento installer doesn’t have that as part of the install.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top