Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

New to Magento. Need help with estimate of time on a project. 

visiondrew

Total Posts:  13

Hello,

My name is Drew and I am a web designer/developer from Pennsylvania. I have a bit of experience with OSCommerce, and I have beginners experience with PHP. I can edit it, but not actually write the code. I heard great things about Magento so decided to give it a try.

We are doing a website for a client, and they want to sell approx 40 products on the internet. Nothing crazy as far as deals on buy two get one free, discounts etc etc. Just 40 products with descriptions and thats it. Two quick questions…

1.  How long do you think it would take someone who is new to Magento, to set up all these products? (Another designer will have all the pages already designed, I will just need to plug in the products and install the system). Also the hosting company already has everything installed as far as php/mysql is involved

2.  What is the easiest/quickest method to implement for payment… Google Checkout? PayPal… other?

Thanks ahead of time!!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

jballotti
Guru

Total Posts:  339
Chicago area

visiondrew - 22 April 2009 11:38 AM

Hello,

My name is Drew and I am a web designer/developer from Pennsylvania. I have a bit of experience with OSCommerce, and I have beginners experience with PHP. I can edit it, but not actually write the code. I heard great things about Magento so decided to give it a try.