Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

multiple languages sites

deisko

Total Posts:  5
istanbul

Dear all,

I am new in Magento and now currently user of Smartstore. Easy to use but one big disadvantage no multiple language support. this can only be realized by coppying the website database and edit all article descriptions. Big disadvantage if on article changes you have to go the copy find the article and edit also there. Or when one article has been added, you must keep track to this all. Take a look at http://www.sebatis.nl to see the result.

Magento seems to give us the freedom and control we are looking for. Looking in the magento forums and all other parts I see several blogs about the multiple language but none of them seems to me give a clear answer how to do.
What we want to test before we will make the step to magento is the next.

websites categories languages design

http://www.sebatis.nl ceramic displays nl/en/de/tr gray
retail displays

http://www.deisko.com logistic solustions nl/tr blue
retail displays

1. both website have 1 categorie in common ‘retail display’
2. both websites will have own design layout
3. we coppied already the language packs nl_NL and tr_TR into ‘app/locale’
4. we downloaded the latest version of magento, where we can select other interface locales. But when we select one nothing changes though.

How is the drill down if we want one website where all categories and language variant description of the products are stored so if we create a new website we can select the category of the root and switch of the ones we don’t want to use?