Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Another Image upload problem
 
wildmanmatt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2009-04-13
 

Hi Everyone,

There seem to be many of us with problems uploading images.

I’ll keep this post updated with any future solutions I may try and their results…

My problem is when I go to Catalogue > Manage Products > Product > Images I don’t have any available upload dialogues. No button saying upload. Just radio buttons under Base Image, Small Image and Thumbnail and a message abot saying “Image type and information need to be specified for each store view.”

The local setups I’ve tried this on are:

1.
OS: Vista ultimate 64-bit
Browsers: IE 8.06001, FF 3.08, Chrome 1.0154, Opera 9.64
Flash: In 9 r124 (in IE), 10 r22 (in IE, Firefox, Opera and Chrome) and 9 r124 (in Firefox)

2.
OS: Vista ultimate 32-bit
Browsers: IE 7.0.6001, FF 3.0.8
Flash: 10 r12

3.
OS: Mac OS X 10.5.6
Browsers: Safari 3.2.1, FF 3.0.8
Flash: 9, r45

4.
OS: Ubuntu 8.10
Browsers: FF3.0.3
Flash: 10 r22

The server magento is setup on is with the following spec:
This is a clean install, not an upgrade from a previous version of magento
Interface_Adminhtml_Default 1.3.0 (stable)
Interface_Frontend_Default 1.3.0 (stable)
Interface_Install_Default 1.3.0 (stable)
Lib_Google_Checkout 1.2.0 (stable)
Lib_Js_Calendar 1.2.0 (stable)
Lib_Js_Ext 1.0.18800 (stable)
Lib_Js_Mage 1.3.0 (stable)
Lib_Js_Prototype 1.2.0 (stable)
Lib_LinLibertineFont 1.1.1 (stable)
Lib_Varien 1.3.0 (stable)
Lib_ZF 1.7.2.2 (stable)
Lib_ZF_Locale 1.7.2.1 (stable)
Mage_All_Latest 1.3.0 (stable)
Mage_Core_Adminhtml 1.3.0 (stable)
Mage_Core_Modules 1.3.0 (stable)
Mage_Downloader 1.2.1 (stable)
Mage_Protx 1.1.4 (beta)
Meanbee_Royalmail 2.0.4 (stable)

PHP 5.2.4-2ubuntu5.5
Apache/2.2.8 (Ubuntu) mod_jk/1.2.25 mod_python/3.3.1 Python/2.5.2 mod_ssl/2.2.8 OpenSSL/0.9.8g mod_perl/2.0.3 Perl/v5.8.8
Suhosin Patch 0.9.6.2
mysql 5.0.51a

Solutions tried:

1. Re-uploading adminhtml (ensuring in a binary form), then clearing browser cache and magento cache (I’ve actually turned magento cache off)
No result

2. Reinstalling Interface_Adminhtml_Default from Magento Connect
No result

3. Reinstalling Mage_Core_Adminhtml
No result

4. Ensuring the following are set in PHP.ini (and then restarting apache):
magic_quotes_gpc = off
short_open_tag = on
extension=pdo.so
extension=pdo_mysql.so

No result

5. Downgrading / Upgrading Flash versions
As you can see, various flash versions have been tried to no avail.
I have also tried the variable flash versions extension within firefox, again to no avail.

6. replacing app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Media/Uploader.php

No result

7. replacing skin/adminhtml/default/default/media/uploader.swf

No result

8.  re-uploading the whole of the app/* directory (and its subs)

No result

9. re-uploading the whole of the skin/* directory (and its subs)

No result

No result

My thought for a resolution was to try to manually upload the images to the server, but I don’t know where to put them or how to then force magento to recognise them and work with them…

I’m not really sure where to go from here...I’m hoping that someone will have some suggestions of what I can try to resolve the problem, if not, at least this will serve as a list of potential solutions for others rather than having to trawl through the forums like I have.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Matt

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 
wildmanmatt - 14 April 2009 07:54 AM

Hi Everyone,

There seem to be many of us with problems uploading images.

My thought for a resolution was to try to manually upload the images to the server, but I don’t know where to put them or how to then force magento to recognise them and work with them…

I’m not really sure where to go from here...I’m hoping that someone will have some suggestions of what I can try to resolve the problem, if not, at least this will serve as a list of potential solutions for others rather than having to trawl through the forums like I have.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Matt

Manually uploading the images won’t do you much good.
I believe that the really important file to verify is magento/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Media/Uploader.php
But, there may be others as well. When I had this problem I eventually solved it by uploading files from a local copy of the Magento full release to my server. The files I uploaded were all from the ....../Adminhtml/ directory.

I currently have a test site installed on a local XAMPP server and a live site which are both at version 1.3.0 and are both working without any problems.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 

Also, verify that the uploader.swf file is there and current in
magentoroot/skin/adminhtml/default/default/media/

cool smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Kalyntika
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-10-18
Huntersville, NC, USA
 

I have a simmilar problem (see my posting). I believe it is due to Flash player. Which version of Flash player do you have?

I add my voice to yours as this is an issue that has to be solved asap. I append the full text of my posting:




Browse Files… button not functioning when I try to upload an image to a new product)
After upgrading to Magento 1.3.0, when I add new products and i try to upload an image to the products the “Browse Files..” button does not respond. 

I had a similar problem in the past and I had to downgrade from Flash 10 to Flash 9 to make the Browse Files button work.  When I upgraded to 1.3.0, I couldn’t see the Browse Files button and I was instructed to upgrade to Flash 10.  Now I have the above problem.

Please advise ASAP! I NEED to add new products SOON

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jballotti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  339
Joined:  2008-04-20
Chicago area
 

It’s possible, especially if you have a customized theme, that not all of your files were updated. Download and decompress a full version of Magento to your local machine and then use an FTP program to compare those files with the files on your server. Pay special attention to the files I mentioned in my previous post.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wildmanmatt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2009-04-13
 

I only have a custom frontend theme, not back-end.

I’ve now tried:
replacing Uploader.php which didn’t help
replacing uploader.swf which didn’t help

re-uploading the whole of the /app directory (and its subs) which didn’t help
re-uploading the whole of the skin directory (and its subs) which didn’t help

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wildmanmatt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2009-04-13
 

This may prove interesting / useful to some...in IE, when I open up a product to view, I am told that there are errors on the page:

1.

Webpage error details

User Agent
Mozilla/4.0 (compatibleMSIE 7.0Windows NT 6.0WOW64SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727FDMMedia Center PC 5.0InfoPath.2; .NET CLR 3.5.21022OfficeLiveConnector.1.3OfficeLivePatch.0.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30618)
TimestampWed15 Apr 2009 11:46:04 UTC


Message
Expected ';'
Line962
Char
35
Code
0
URI
http://www.icheeta.com/magento/magento/index.php/control/catalog_product/edit/id/3/


Message'id_676224f8b5abb95940caf2b97554f786_UploaderJsObject' is undefined
Line
982
Char
1
Code
0
URI
http://www.icheeta.com/magento/magento/index.php/control/catalog_product/edit/id/3/

2.

Webpage error details

User Agent
Mozilla/4.0 (compatibleMSIE 7.0Windows NT 6.0WOW64SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727FDMMedia Center PC 5.0InfoPath.2; .NET CLR 3.5.21022OfficeLiveConnector.1.3OfficeLivePatch.0.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30618)
TimestampWed15 Apr 2009 11:46:22 UTC


Message
Expected ';'
Line962
Char
35
Code
0
URI
http://www.icheeta.com/magento/magento/index.php/control/catalog_product/edit/id/3/


Message'id_676224f8b5abb95940caf2b97554f786_UploaderJsObject' is undefined
Line
982
Char
1
Code
0
URI
http://www.icheeta.com/magento/magento/index.php/control/catalog_product/edit/id/3/
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Kalyntika
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-10-18
Huntersville, NC, USA
 

Thank you for your reply by I just realized that my host (Simplehelix) is having problems. The server is continuously crashing and I am loosing pieces of the database and God only knows what else.

I will have to resolve this first before start touching Magento.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tom_mag
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-04-03
 

i tried different suggested solution for this problem. at least i used this:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/replace_upload.swf

t.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
wildmanmatt
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2009-04-13
 

None worked for me, upgrading to 1.3.1 did however

M@

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top