Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Magento Theme Terminology and Structure Suggestion

rwone

Total Posts:  174

Firstly, Magento is without a doubt the best e-commerce solution available. 

Secondly, i am new to Magento and going through the WTF! phase - so it is probable that this will pass as i become more familiar with Magento.

So please take these two things into account as i offer the following feedback. 

I am finding it hard to get my head around the, to my mind, spurious use of terminology and structure in regards to ‘themes’ in Magento . 

There is a confusing logic in that when a ‘theme’ is referenced this means two folders that themselves contain an ‘interface’ and ‘theme’ folder, with one being called ‘skin’ and one also containing a ‘template’ folder. In common usage, the terms ‘interface’, ‘theme’, ‘skin’ and ‘template’ are generally understood to refer to the same thing which i think causes the confusion. 

Could theming not be controlled by the following, simpler and more concise, structural and naming convention:

magento

-themes

-myThemeName

-themeStructure

-layout (xml that controls the structure)
                     -
locale (language used in structure)
                     -
phtml (content that fills the structure)
             -
themeSkin

-css (css that styles the theme)
                     -
images (images used in the theme)
                     -
js (js used in the theme)

The benefits would be that when the term ‘theme’ was referenced it would refer to the container of a fully encapsulated ‘theme’ and not multiple possibilities.