Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
SSL

Chuck261

Total Posts:  8

How do I determine which pages of the site are put into the “SECURE” folder? OR should I put the entire site there? I purchased a SSL Certificate from Rapid SSL. Installed it on my site, but what is next? I am a novice a e-commerce so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Chuck

CPRsigns.com

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Vincèn

Total Posts:  289
Grenoble, France

Well is it really needed to use SSL if you don’t manage yourself capture of credit card numbers ? Myself I use only Paypal and my bank proprietary system not hosted on my server so all bank aspects are out of my server so I don’t use SSL !

Vincèn

Magento Community
Magento Community

Chuck261

I am using paypal also, Web Payment Pro, so they never leave my site. So when customers enter there Names, E-mail addresses Etc, it is stored on my server Correct? If it is I would think the safest thing to do is have it in secure folders. I am new to this so if my thinking is not correct please someone let me know. But I would prefer to error on the safe side.

Magento Community
Magento Community

Aspiration Host
Mentor

Total Posts:  1287
Tampa, FL

You can enable Secure URL in Magento by going to Admin --> System --> Configurations --> Web --> Secure URL. In there you can set whether to have the Secure URL enabled for the whole site or for the checkout shopping cart only.

Magento Community
Magento Community

Aspiration Host
Mentor

Tampa, FL

Double Posting. Please refer to the post above.

Magento Community