Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

TAX Rule - Unable to ‘create’ or ‘import’ CSV to update new Rates
 
Roamingdoc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-04-01
 

CAN no one suggest a reasons that we cannot:

Import ANYTHING to tax rates?
Add ‘new tax rate’ to tax rate?

It is though somehow the ‘file’ or ‘page’ associated with the tax rate
page is corrupt.

DOES ANYONE KNOW where (file hierarchy wise) the file for ‘tax rate’ is
located from root?

Stunning that this seems to be so intractable. Can anyone make a suggestion
for aid? Thanks.

Major ‘tax rate’ issues for us in Magento ver. 1.0.19870.4
California imposing (as many are) new tax rates that ALL vary from
county to county.
We exported ‘current’ rates, used Excel to change rates, tried to import.
Acted like it was the wrong “format” (error indicated “format error")
Read that, to IMPORT, the file had to be in UNIX or MAC format? Is that correct?
At any rate, tried cvs and text files that had been saved in ‘unix’ format, no joy.

Decided to start all over… there is no current ‘tax rule’ - we CANNOT add one at
all. Says to “try again later”? Like the file is ‘timed out’ - impossible.
Exact error is -
Error while saving this rate. Please try again later. (!@@%$%)

Can anyone help? This is not an April fools joke, we have no tax rules for any of
the some 500 rates we need to enter for CA alone.
Thanks very much

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Roamingdoc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-04-01
 

Well, we are completely UNABLE to add a ‘tax rule’ of any kind.
We cannot import a tax rule, we cannot create one.

WHAT would cause that in this application? CAN ANYONE shed any light?
Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Roamingdoc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-04-01
 

Still continuing to have this issue. 

We’ve used a Unix format to create the file for upload… (top lines shown here), looks like this:
[cannot show the unix formatting here I guess, but there is the typ ‘box’ after “rate 5” and all
are in “ “

Country,State,Zip/Post Code,Rate 1,Rate 2,Rate 3,Rate 4,Rate 5
United States,CA,*,8.25,0,0,0,0
United States,CA,90001,9.25,0,0,0,0
United States,CA,90002,9.25,0,0,0,0
United States,CA,90003,9.25,0,0,0,0

The ‘import’ displays this -
Tax rate was successfully imported with a green check mark, but the readout above
indicates these facts - one for each line of our CA state zips/rates. We also still cannot
‘create’ a new rule.

# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.
# One of row has invalid country code.

Anyone? Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Roamingdoc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2009-04-01
 

Appreciate all the HELP

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
balero
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  170
Joined:  2009-01-29
埼玉県所沢市
 
Roamingdoc - 03 April 2009 06:00 AM

Appreciate all the HELP

Maybe lay off the “air quotes” and ALL CAPS. You sound a bit hysterical, like the schizo homeless guy in Palisades park in Santa Monica that everyone gives a wide berth to.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
natepershall
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-02-08
 

I am having the same trouble trying to import.

I tried changing the document encoding, I’ve tried it as CSV and TXT. I’ve tried holding my breath, RTFM, shouting profanity in three languages and I even did a little praying, hoping, begging and I’m not proud to admit I may have cried, slightly. But it was only like one tear.

For those of you trying to figure out what a solution could be… none of the above had any influence to the positive resolution of this problem.

I’ll soon become a crazy homeless blathering idiot if i can not find a solution.
Of course, I could spend 2 hours adding each zipcode by hand… if I only had 2 hours.
I hope someone out there knows more than me about a solution.

Thanks for reading,
Cheers

Here’s a short excerpt for refernce:

“Code”,"Country”,"State","Zip/Post Code”,"Rate”,"default"
“US-PA-Philly-19019-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19019”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19059-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19059”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19092-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19092”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19093-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19093”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19099-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19099”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19101-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19101”,"1.0000","”
“US-PA-Philly-19102-Retail”,"US”,"PA”,"19102”,"1.0000","”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
natepershall
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-02-08
 

I found a solution, but only for the live server. testing server (XAMPP on OSX) is still crippled in it’s ability to communicate what a valid file type is and I’ve given up trying.

So here’s what I have but I haven’t tested to make sure this is the only solution but this is what worked for me.

1) No file extension
2) Document Encoding UTF-8
3) Stripped out the quotes

Here’s an excerpt:

Code,Country,State,Zip/Post Code,Rate,default
US-PA-Philly-19019-Retail,US,PA,19019,1.0000,
US-PA-Philly-19059-Retail,US,PA,19059,1.0000,
US-PA-Philly-19092-Retail,US,PA,19092,1.0000,
US-PA-Philly-19093-Retail,US,PA,19093,1.0000,
US-PA-Philly-19099-Retail,US,PA,19099,1.0000,
US-PA-Philly-19101-Retail,US,PA,19101,1.0000,

I really hope that helps someone.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
balero
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  170
Joined:  2009-01-29
埼玉県所沢市
 

What’s the “Philly” for?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
natepershall
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-02-08
 

I’m putting up a store for a business here in Philadelphia. So there are two tax rates:
1) Pennsylvania residents pay 6%
2) Philadelphia residents pay 7%

So I created a rule that includes a test for all of the zipcodes for Philly that adds 1% to the standard PA sales tax that is applied to purchases made from within the city limits.

There was a really helpful tutorial from William Rice on Packt Publishing’s website ( http://www.packtpub.com/article/creating-tax-rules-in-magento ) that I just happened by. Oddly enough his example was for Philly tax rates.

Still can’t import into my locally hosted site, however.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
balero
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  170
Joined:  2009-01-29
埼玉県所沢市
 

By the way, if you export the tax rules already in the system, they will import back just fine. If you have no rules in the system, create one in the Admin panel and export. It will import back just fine. Compare it to what you’re having trouble importing. Reduce it to one line of data and step by step edit it to match a piece of your real data, importing each time. You’ll find the problem this way.

It’s not quotes. Those import fine.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
natepershall
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-02-08
 

I wish I could say that my experience was equally lacking in mystifying incongruities.

I am definitely a fan of systematic approaches. And I was pretty thorough in my approach.
The first thing I did upon receiving the first error was to export the data and use it as a model for how you’d think it would be most amenable to.

However, from all that I’ve read from people with similar trouble the general attitude of frustration seems to be generated by a total lack of reasonable behavior on the part of the import feature. Especially considering that the only solution that worked on our live server as mentioned above didn’t work on my dev server.
I have a feeling it has to do with something else but I won’t have time to figure it out for a while.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ces1292
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2009-02-22
 

Hello Everyone,

I’m having some issues with the tax rates for NC. I can only import up to 15 different rates. I’ve sorted the csv file a couple of different ways and it imports the top 15, not the complete list.

I want to say this is a bug, unless there is some setting that I need to check.

Thanks in advance

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ces1292
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2009-02-22
 

For everyone that are still having issue with the import. Here is the solution:
link

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top