Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Upgrading from beta 0.7 to 0.8
 
andyellis_2000
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-02-15
 

I have worked some with version 0.7, added several categories and products, made some css changes etc, and I am wondering about upgrading now.  I read somewhere in my research that it is very advisable to do a clean install and thats fine. I would delete all the files and replace them with the new unzipped files and run install again. I am on Linux and had no problems with first install.

What I am wondering is once the new version installs, do I just tell it to conect to the same database as I was using in 0.7 and all will be fine? This will bring in my categories and products etc?

Also can I replace boxes.css and reset.css since I made some changes within those, as well as in /app..../callouts/right_col.phtml to replace the blackboard thing.  Any other caveats I should be thinking about? Or other files I should be replacing from 0.7

Thanks, really love Magento!
Andy

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

I would:
1. leave your existing copy of files and database.
2. Create a copy of your database
3. Create new Magento installation connected to the cloned database,
4. Copy your changes (which should be separate files smile ) to new copy
5. Resolve incompatibilities.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andyellis_2000
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-02-15
 

thenk you for that quick reply.  I tried to backup the db in PHPMyAdmin and got a surprise. Can you look at the attached. Is my db corrupted? I used the same technique I always do, load the db...Operations....Copy database to magento_08 (Structure and Data...Create DB before copying and got the attached.  Is my database messed up do you think?

Image Attachments
phpmyadmin2.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andyellis_2000
Member
 
Total Posts:  41
Joined:  2008-02-15
 

i just tried to repair it but apparently its not possible

magento.admin_assert repair note “The storage engine for the table doesn’t support repair”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top