Magento Forum

Page 1 of 5
Internal server error (500) - please help …
 
Frawanaz
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-02-18
 

Hi

I run a webshop, and discovered Magento today while looking for alternatives to our current (and horrible) OsCommerce.

I tried to install - both the full version and just the installer. It all goes very well until the installation itself is complete. I click the OK-button and he server just goes down with server error 500. I did give the right permissions (777 to the files and folders mentioned in the installation guide).

My company is hosted at gigahost.dk
And it uses PHP 5.2 and MySql 5.0

http://www.kristuskonge.dk/magento/index.php/install/wizard/config/

Any help is much appreciated.

Hope Magento will be all it promises, cause then it will certainly have found another use (if I could just install that damn thing wink)

Regards,
Frawanaz

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Please set permission 755 for magento folder and index.php

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iblastoff
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

you sure your main index.php is supposed to be world writable (777) ?? i don’t see anything in the installation guide that mentions such a setting.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Frawanaz
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-02-18
 
Moshe - 18 February 2008 10:29 AM

Please set permission 755 for magento folder and index.php

Thank you for the fast reply. Worked perfectly grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davinder
Member
 
Total Posts:  56
Joined:  2008-06-26
 

I m trying to install Magento for past 2 hours and getting the same Internal Server Error. I tried moving installation files to another folder but same thing happened. It did work once upto first step but crashed again and gave me same error. I didnt have problem with previous version of Magento. Now I m installing 1.1.2 version. Please help!

Davinder

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
B00MER
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  130
Joined:  2007-12-27
DFW, TX
 

Sometimes this can be related to the .htaccess rewritebase rule ...

RewriteBase /

/ <- is obviously the root path web wise to your magento installation.

If you have a cpanel or such, check your error logs for more details on whats returning a 500 internal server error.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davinder
Member
 
Total Posts:  56
Joined:  2008-06-26
 

Thanks Boomer, it worked for me this morning and everything regarding installation went fine. I got home from work today and saw that frontend is fine but backend ‘/admin’ is giving me the same problem still although it worked in the morning.

here is my website: http://www.newagestyles.com/
and here is what you see when you access admin: http://www.newagestyles.com/admin

Davinder

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davinder
Member
 
Total Posts:  56
Joined:  2008-06-26
 

Sorry guys I didn’t put the RewriteBase / exactly the way it should be. It is working fine now smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shaiss
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-06-17
 

Wow, what change in 1.14?  I’ve installed 1.12 like cake before on the same server.  Now I get all these 500 errors and cpanel error log complaining of folders and files being writeable by group?  What the...!!!!

What changed magento ppl?  I made all the compaint files/directories 755 and got the installer running.  Now lets see if it’ll actually install!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
stantyan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-09-10
 

I am using BlueHost…
I am using this package http://www.magentocommerce.com/getmagento/1.1.4/magento-1.1.4.zip
domain is http://www.drugstore.uz

I uploaded the whole zip to my /public_html/drugstore and then extracted it
so now I have magento in /public_html/drugstore

I was trying to run http://www.drugstore.uz/magento/ but it shows 500 Internal Server Error

I changed all the permissions according to installation guide
Should I change something in htaccess file?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
schmad27
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-09-11
 

I’m a Bluehost user to and having the same problems. Gees , what a headache. I would like to see a sample of what exactly should be in the htaccess file. All I here is, “Sounds like you have a problem with your .htaccess file.” Ok, what’s the problem and what should really be in it to make it work correctly?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rbotelho
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-09-14
 

Trying to install it on Siteground.

Uploaded the full package 1.1.4 - unzip it no my folder.

Installed the sample database but when i run the install.php only get Internal Server Error!!!

I thought CRE was buggy but I think it’s not the only one…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 
rbotelho - 14 September 2008 03:43 PM

Trying to install it on Siteground.

Uploaded the full package 1.1.4 - unzip it no my folder.

Installed the sample database but when i run the install.php only get Internal Server Error!!!

I thought CRE was buggy but I think it’s not the only one…

What is your file permissions for the magento directory?
You need to make sure that at least index.php and install.php is at 644/755.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rbotelho
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-09-14
 

Hi and thanks for answering.

All files are with permissions 777…

Keeps giving Internal Server Error.

I have uploaded to public_html/magento/

I have .htacess with RewriteBase /magento/

but doesn’t even start, it gives error immediately.

Any idea why?

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JLHC
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1287
Joined:  2008-05-09
Tampa, FL
 

It may be due to the server having suPHP enabled. Try changing all files to 644 while all directories to 755.
Also turn off the rewrites.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rbotelho
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-09-14
 

Ok… Checked server error log:

this is the reason:

Premature end of script headers: /home/lojadoca/public_html/magento/index.php

What may be causing this?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 5