Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Please help, worried I have duplicate content problems or do all magento sites do this? 
 
Lianne444
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2011-08-30
 

Hi,

If you type in a url in lower case or capitals or a combination of both then the page still works so do I have duplicate content?. i.e the correct url is /shipping but if I type in /Shipping or even /sHiPping they still bring up the shipping page, is this suppose to work like this?

Also google seems to be including some urls as http and https, so is this duplicate content too?

I also have a problem where google is indexing duplicate pages and there is just a / on the end so gallery and gallery/ this has happened for all my gallery categories and have no clue why?

I’ve checked my settings and have a yes for the following

Use Categories Path for Product URLs
Create Permanent Redirect for URLs if URL Key Changed
Use Canonical Link Meta Tag For Categories
Use Canonical Link Meta Tag For Products
Use Web Server Rewrites

Because of how magento is setup there are multiple urls for each product and I only want google to index one so I’ve 301’d in .htaccess category/product, category/subcategory/product and featured-product/product to just /product which is a real pain and luckily I only have a few products and not 1000’s/

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me as I’m worried that this is affecting my rankings
Lianne
__________________

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jeffcustom
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2012-11-29
Boulder, CO
 

Yes, Google and other search engines don\’t love duplicate content on sites.  Several years ago, they didn\’t really worry about it; these days, it does affect your rankings.

You want to use the Rel=”Canonical” tag for pages that you don\’t want to have indexed; we put together a quick blog article that discusses this in a little bit of detail:
http://www.customerparadigm.com/relcanonical-vs-pagination-weeding-through-duplicate-content-with-a-paginated-sequence-tank/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ScommerceMage
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  103
Joined:  2013-12-27
United Kingdom
 

Hi Guys,

Must have SEO module to resolve duplicate content issue on your site. One unique URL for each product throughout your entire website.

http://www.scommerce-mage.co.uk/magento-extensions/magento-seo-catalog-urls.html

Here are the main features of this module-:

- One primary category for products which are there in multiple categories

- Permanent redirects (301) if you explicitly remove category path from the URL

- Permanent redirects (301) if you explicitly add non-primary category in the URL

- Primary category will be used in the URL for each and every section of the store including cross sells, up sells, relative products, basket link, search, advance search etc.

- It resolves duplicate content issue problem for your site as search engines will find one unique url for each product instead of multiple urls

- This module can be completely disabled whenever required via system configuration in admin

Kind Regards
Scommerce Mage

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Amasty
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3988
Joined:  2009-11-10
 
Lianne444 - 15 April 2013 09:15 AM

Hi,

If you type in a url in lower case or capitals or a combination of both then the page still works so do I have duplicate content?. i.e the correct url is /shipping but if I type in /Shipping or even /sHiPping they still bring up the shipping page, is this suppose to work like this?

Also google seems to be including some urls as http and https, so is this duplicate content too?

I also have a problem where google is indexing duplicate pages and there is just a / on the end so gallery and gallery/ this has happened for all my gallery categories and have no clue why?

I’ve checked my settings and have a yes for the following

Use Categories Path for Product URLs
Create Permanent Redirect for URLs if URL Key Changed
Use Canonical Link Meta Tag For Categories
Use Canonical Link Meta Tag For Products
Use Web Server Rewrites

Because of how magento is setup there are multiple urls for each product and I only want google to index one so I’ve 301’d in .htaccess category/product, category/subcategory/product and featured-product/product to just /product which is a real pain and luckily I only have a few products and not 1000’s/

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me as I’m worried that this is affecting my rankings
Lianne
__________________

Hello Lianne, to solve the problem of duplicate content in product URLs please check out this extension: http://amasty.com/magento-unique-product-url.html. With this module you can specify one unique URL for the product placed in multiple categories, thus preventing your store from duplicate content.

Please visit the Unique Product URL extension page to see the detailed description, user guide and a live demo.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FmeAddons
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  123
Joined:  2014-01-15
USA
 

You need to add canonical tags to tell Google the both URLs are point to one product. The canonical URL should be the preferred URL that is for which you want to rank in Google, To avoid coding use our Free Canonical URL extension . From Meta information an option will be added to let store owners chose the canonical / preferred URL and canonical tags automatically according to the selected choice.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

Heh, all the module vampires are out.

Are you showing these mixed case URLs in Google or are you mistaking the fact that Magento lower-cases the URL internally so that the proper page comes up. No duplicate content showing in Google, you’re merely mistaking proper operation for something that’s not happening.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top