Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 3 of 3
Template System

Mason

Total Posts:  4
Michigan

Thanks for the replies guys. Apropos the XML templating system, what made you choose to set it up that way? While I know you’ve said it increases flexibility, it does only allow more experienced users to reap the benefit of the added flexibility. Everything is incredibly well designed and it has a great deal of appeal, but in a situation such as mine, Magento doesn’t cut the mustard because of the steep learning curve. What audience was Magento designed for? Fellow developers? I’m a front-end web designer who is looking for an ecommerce/CMS solution that makes use of web standards and best practices, which Magento appears to do. I think it’s shortcoming however is that it can’t be easily customized.

Anyway, great work with what you’ve done. Hopefully I can revisit Magento in the future when it’s front-end is more easily customizable. I don’t think most people looking for a nice ecommerce/cms solution have the time or patience to learn XML or the XML templating system you’ve devised. I think there will be many designers, like me, who have an XHTML/CSS based design all ready to go and will perhaps be discouraged by the notion of having to learn the templating system. I know that’s how I also felt about Symphony21.

Please don’t take the above as me being destructive or unfair. I was merely attempting to offer my opinion as a front-end web designer so that you better understand the perspective of some of your prospective users.

Thanks!
-Mason

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community