Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Magento licensing query

freelance_uk

Total Posts:  2

I am an indepedent e-commerce consultant currently contracted to a leading UK ecommerce supplier. As part of my remit, I am currently researching a number of open source ecommerce platforms that my client can adopt as a base platform and extend (through in-house development) into a commercial product. Magento is on my list

I would like to know the following:

1. Are there any legal implications or restrictions my client needs to factor if they want to extend the platform?

2. Must any extensions my client creates in house be made available to the wider community? If so, are there any stipulations on the pricing or licensing model they can offer?

3. Can my client charge for customisation, set up etc?

4. Must my client state ‘powered by Magento’ on any site they build using Magento?

I understand a commercial license may address some of these points but there is little information available on your site and nobody answers the Varien phone or returns any messages.  There is also a lack of clarity around OSL and AFL and how this would affect the possibilities from a legal perspective.

I’d be grateful for a quick response. My client has significant budget allocated and is ready to go. We just need a few answers in order to make a decision.

Thanks

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

J_T_
Mentor

Total Posts:  1961
London-ish, UK

(Not a lawyer)