Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Can’t see a module just uploaded
 
sergio colussi
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-11-26
 

Hi, I create a little custom module in my local enviroment, then, i uploaded all the files to the site where the module has to be shown, but i can’t see it. The module appears in Configuration > advanded of backend, but not in frontend.
Is there something I have to take in consideration when I upload my custom modules ?
thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
skippybosco
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  796
Joined:  2008-10-03
 

First thing, clear your cache (System -> Cache Control -> Refresh or delete the contents of magento/var/cache)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sergio colussi
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-11-26
 

Thank skippybosco, but doesn’t works for me, I’ll keep on trying

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
skippybosco
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  796
Joined:  2008-10-03
 

I don’t know the specifics of your module configuration, but also be sure that you have assigned it to the correct store and theme.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sergio colussi
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-11-26
 

mm I’m a little confused about my module configuration, you say configuration into some of the xml files ? or from admin ?
thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
skippybosco
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  796
Joined:  2008-10-03
 

Just was wondering if you had any special setup like more than store if you were testing on just a default store.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sergio colussi
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-11-26
 

I was testing in my default store.
I will update this post when i resolve this.
If this helps, these are files folders I updated when I uploaded my custom module:
app\design\frontend\default\mytheme\template\mymodule\mymodule.phtml
app\design\frontend\default\mytheme\layout\mymodule.xml
app\etc\modules\mynamespace_mymodule.xml
app\code\local\mynamespace\mymodule\… (all files and directories)

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top