Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

General Site Slowness

chrisd66

Total Posts:  3

This was actually a reply to another thread ( http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/15581/ ), but I wanted to make a new topic so that maybe a magento developer could weigh in on this.

I am new to this product, using the latest v1.2.1, and have been slowly loading in products over the last few days.  First off I don’t want to sound like I’m bashing the product because overall I really like it and wouldn’t be using it if I didn’t. I currently have about 120 products loaded in and the admin section of the site is horribly slow.  The frontend is also slow, though thankfully not as slow as the admin.

I know that the site is hosted at godaddy which according to other posts here seems like a bad idea. (I’m looking into other options)
Back to the original reason for my post here.  I haven’t tried to debug any of the code, but just looking at the previous post with the query that is being run to retrieve customers I can see why things are so slow.  That is an insane query to be trying to run.  If any of the developers are seeing this reply, I would really love to know why they would try to run something like that. I can only imagine that the product retrieval queries are similar.