Magento Forum

   
500 internal server error when indexing Product Flat Data
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

I am very new to Magento. I have creaded a site (autotriminteriors.com) that need to run about 30k products. I have been importing products in bunches of 1k, and reindexing after each import. I have gotten to about 18k when I started to get the “500 internal server error” after indexing Product Flat Data. I give it some time and try it again, but it keep giving me the error and telling me that the status is “processing”.  I am running version 1.7.0.2. Does anyone have any ideas on why this seems to be dieing with 18k products? Any ideas on how I can fix it?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
srmobile
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  276
Joined:  2011-10-25
 

What platform is your magento installed on?

It sounds like your script is timing out. 

Try running it, count how much time elapses before you get the error 500 message.

Check your config files for your server and increase this value.

SR

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

It is running on linux hosted by godaddy.... I will try the timeout setting and get back to you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

It looks like an apache timeout. Here is a good article on it: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11445432/apache-500-error-with-php-fun

I am fighting with godaddy on it now, but not sure if I will make any headroom.

Is there a way to index magento product through a CLI? And, if so, would that be a work around?

Thanks,
Jamie

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
srmobile
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  276
Joined:  2011-10-25
 

Actually yes.

You can re-index your entire site through SSH.  Go to your magento installation, then into the sub-directory “shell”

run the following:

php indexer.php --reindexall

I would however continue looking into the timeout because if there are delays on your site of more than the value set, then visitors will no doubt eventually receive these on the front-end as well.

Hope this helps,

SR

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

forgive me for my ignorance, but this is what it gives me when I try to execute that command.

-bash-3.2php indexer.php --reindexall
Content
-typetext/html

<br />
<
b>Parse error</b>:  syntax errorunexpected T_STRINGexpecting T_OLD_FUNCTION or T_FUNCTION or T_VAR or \'}\' in <b>/home/content/04/10601804/html/shell/indexer.php</bon line <b>43</b><br />
-
bash-3.2$

Any ideas?

I am still working with godaddy to change the timeout. It is 120sec… I will post any updates to what I find.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
srmobile
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  276
Joined:  2011-10-25
 

Are you running that in an SSH session?

SR

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

yes....in the shell directory

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
srmobile
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  276
Joined:  2011-10-25
 

Try this: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewreply/404961/

I’m not familiar with what go daddy provides but I know that I can execute with CentOS and FreeBSD.

Once you can execute php at the command line then the indexer.php --reindexall will do the job.

Let me know how you make out.

SR

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

I talked to godaddy and they thought the reason I was getting the parse error was because the command I was running wasn’t php 5 compatible.

If I try to issue the the php5 command here is the output:

-bash-3.2php5 indexer.php --reindexall
-bashphp5command not found
-bash-3.2$

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jm_eklund
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2013-03-01
 

Godaddy is being very unhelpful. Here is the thread that I have been working on with them: http://support.godaddy.com/groups/web-hosting/forum/topic/php-parse-errors-with-ssh-command/?isc=gdbba1417&ci;=76021&pc;_split_value=2

Does anyone else have any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top