Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Can’t login to admin on Firefox
 
foomin
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2009-01-26
 

I have been trying to login to the Admin panel of Magento using Firefox on a mac but all that happens is the login screen reloads. I can log in no problems with Safari and even my colleague can log in using Firefox but for some reason it’s not happening on my computer. Can any one shed any light on this?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vmajor
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-02-08
 

I have that problem on the Linux server that is serving Magento, so hilariously I have to log in to Magento from a Windows PC to administer the store.

CentOS 5.2 x64
Firefox 3.06 x64

V.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Juno612
Member
 
Total Posts:  54
Joined:  2009-02-07
City of Industry
 

I am unable to log in in both IE and Firfox, I currently hosting with Linux with Magento recommended hosting provider, what should I do?????

Frank

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
valelik
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-02-15
 

Same problem here.

My quick solution is to use Opera. It works.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ajlepisto
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-02-13
 

I log into admin via firefox on my Vista machine fine.

Perhaps it’s something to do with Apple and Firefox?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
valelik
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-02-15
 

This worked for me:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewreply/102062/

(comment out some code in app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Session/Abstract/Varien.php)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
praefex
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-12-05
 

Hi All -

I found a rather simple solution to this problem, so YMMV but it worked great for me! If you are having troubles logging into the admin after upgrading to Magento 1.2.1, then this is a very simple check/fix.

Initially the fix that worked and ended my 6 hours of hell last saturday, entailed commenting out 3 lines of code in:

app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Session/Abstract/Varian.php:74:75:76

Today, it dawned on me that the admin section addresses this specifically, of which my values were blank!

1. System > Configuration
2. Session Cookie Management
3. Fill in Cookie Domain with your domain
4. Fill in Cookie Path with just a ‘/’ (no single quotes)
5. Save, Log out, Log in.
6. Smile!

So this is what I found that works, so Varian didn’t mess anything up really, they just got more code working the way it should have!

Cheers,
praefex

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ellric
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2008-10-22
 

Solustion is to change varien.php (just like in post above)

But in other versions of magento it isnt 74;75;76 lines.

So change this part:

session_set_cookie_params(
$this->getCookie()->getLifetime(),
$this->getCookie()->getPath()
$this->getCookie()->getDomain(),
$this->getCookie()->isSecure(),
$this->getCookie()->getHttponly()
);

To this part:
session_set_cookie_params(
$this->getCookie()->getLifetime(),
$this->getCookie()->getPath()
//$this->getCookie()->getDomain(),
//$this->getCookie()->isSecure(),
//$this->getCookie()->getHttponly()
);

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top