Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

BUG : Magento 1.7 Shipping Rates “lucky dip” Query

daveime

Total Posts:  2

Hi, I’m a freelance programmer, and I have a client who’s using Magento 1.7 Community edition. He was asking me to setup the Shipping Rates for him, and I discovered what I think is a serious bug in the way the correct rate is selected.

So, if we look at System -> Configuration -> Shipping Methods, I have Table Rates enabled, and all other methods disabled. The mode is set to “Price vs Destination”, and I select Italy as the applicable country . I upload a CSV file with the rates thus (header row omitted) :-

IT    *    *    0    10
IT    
*    *    150    5

This is a very simple ruleset, if country is Italy, and price is less than 150 then shipping is 10 - if price is 150 or more, then shipping is 5. This is just a very simple ruleset, obviously the full blown one would contain multiple countries and order subtotal “ranges”.

However, it’s not working on the frontend, seems like whatever the subtotal, the shipping cost is always reported as 10.

So I delved into the code to see what was going on, and discovered a huge logic flaw.

Take a look at this file app/code/core/Mage/Shipping/Model/Resource/Carrier/Tablerate.php, lines 116 - 178 where he creates the database query for matching rows in the shipping rate table against the supplied parameters.

Notwithstanding the double identical condition for

dest_country_id = :country_id AND dest_region_id = 0 AND dest_zip = ‘*’

which doesn’t actually cause any harm, if we translate those conditions into a raw SQL query, using the parameters