Magento Forum

HTML problem
 
lapparts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2011-05-23
 

Hello,

My HTML code in my site is working fine but i met an other problem.

If i show a product url (for example: http://www.lapparts.nl/laptop-adapter-adp-90sb) at facebook page, than it shows there all text including HTML codes. That is very disturbing.

How can i solve this?

Magento version 1.4.1.1

Thanks for helping!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
allanwebix
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2012-10-01
 

I’m not familiar with your Magento version but it seems your META information needed to be modified. Don’t include html tags such as <b>.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lapparts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2011-05-23
 

Hi,

Thanks for responding. It is html code in description fields, not in meta fields.
And indeed i use <b> for showing something in bold. How can i do it otherwise?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
surik
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2012-12-27
 

Hello, I understand you want to facebookk leave a link to the site?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lapparts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2011-05-23
 

No,

I post a product url from my site to my facebook page. And in the facebook page will it be shown up also with HTML codes in it and i am wondering if i can do it without this html?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ixtab86
Member
 
Total Posts:  58
Joined:  2011-11-02
 

Why not to try facebook meta tags and strip_tags for them:

<?php echo strip_tags($description); ?>
Edit:
Don’t forget to force facebook to clear cache for your domain.
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lapparts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2011-05-23
 

Hi Ixtab,

“Why not to try facebook meta tags and strip_tags for them:
<?php echo strip_tags($description); ?>
Edit:
Don’t forget to force facebook to clear cache for your domain”

Please explain: Where to put this html code you wrote?
In the backend from magento in the product?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ixtab86
Member
 
Total Posts:  58
Joined:  2011-11-02
 

I meant to put it inside your head.phtml in facebook meta tags. of course $description was just a sample. you need to google out how to get product description in this file. to avoid errors you also have to check if you are currently on productdetail page. i did this somewhere before but can’t check this right now. you shouldn’t have any problems with google this anyway

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
piyushaegis
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2012-12-27
 

Hey all…
Currently i face the same problem in my project,
after reading all the reply i solved my problem.
Thanks all of you for your reply,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nancyfromafrica
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2012-09-03
India
 

you have flooded your page with meta description and meta keywords you need to learn how to write a short 150 word description and keywords with comma

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top