Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Demo store site map broken
 
battosai
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-01-21
 

I’ve installed version 0.7.15480 on two machines with the sample data.  On both, I’m having the same problem.  When I click on “site map” in the footer, I get a list of categories.  If I click on any category, I get a 404 “Whoops, our bad...” error.

Is there anything I should do to investigate this, or is this a known issue?

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Could you try refreshing catalog URL rewrites - in Admin > System > Cache management

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
setanta
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2007-11-01
 

Same problem, still not solved since I tried ‘Refresh Catalog Rewrites’.

Having this problem with 2 separate installs of 0.7.15480, one server with php4/ cgi workaround, the other running php5.21
All the links under the ‘categories sitemap’ are 404 e.g. http://www.domain.com/apparel/

I also have no horizontal category navigation on my site. I have check to make sure products and categoories are activated in the back end and everything looks ok. Can someone please suggest some step by step solutions?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Corllete Ltd
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-08
Bulgaria
 

Same problem .. Any ideas ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
battosai
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-01-21
 
Moshe - 31 January 2008 06:24 PM

Could you try refreshing catalog URL rewrites - in Admin > System > Cache management

I tried that, and it didn’t help.  It looks like I’m not the only one, though.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
battosai
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-01-21
 

I found the cause! smile

To all who are having a problem: In the admin area, look under System->Catalog->Root Category.  It’s probably empty.  Select “Root Catalog”.  Without that, Magento apparently doesn’t have a root from which to base the categories, so they are not linked up.  I suppose this should be set in the SQL of the demo data, but it’s not.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Corllete Ltd
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2007-11-08
Bulgaria
 

God bless you !!!! My whole day ... I lost my whole day searching the forums, blogs, installing and re-installing .... you guys from Magento doing a great job but such kind of issues are not permitted smile. Thanks again !!!

BTW: it’d be very helpfull to make this thread sticky

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
RH
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  81
Joined:  2007-10-09
 

Is anyone having this problem with ver. 0.8.16100

I click sitemap and then error 404 is displayed.

Any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
RoyRubin
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  968
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles, CA
 

@RH - Thanks for pointing this out. We’ll take care of it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rimaz
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-02-04
 
RH - 15 February 2008 03:13 PM

Is anyone having this problem with ver. 0.8.16100

I click sitemap and then error 404 is displayed.

Any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Same problems to me.
Any ideas how to fix it?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rimaz
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-02-04
 
Rimaz - 19 February 2008 04:58 AM

RH - 15 February 2008 03:13 PM
Is anyone having this problem with ver. 0.8.16100

I click sitemap and then error 404 is displayed.

Any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Same problems to me.
Any ideas how to fix it?

I found way to fix it.
I changed one line in app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Helper/Map.php
From: return $this->_getUrl(’catalog/seo_sitemap/category’);
To: return ‘catalog/seo_sitemap/category/’;
The link to sitemap is working fine now. smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top