Magento Forum

   
Cant find /install “directory”
 
Roy Andre
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  209
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

I know Magento is based on the Zend Framework and therefore dont have the “normalt” folder-system. However, after following the installation-guide both me and many others seem to encounter a problem that the system cant find /magento/install.

I guess this has to be with .htaccess somehow.

Discussions about it - with solutions - goes here..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

Just load it from the root dir. It will run itself. If it doesn’t pull up the install directory correctly you may not have mod_rewrite installed on your server.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ze F
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2007-08-31
Portugal
 
aFFi - 31 August 2007 08:29 AM

I know Magento is based on the Zend Framework and therefore dont have the “normalt” folder-system. However, after following the installation-guide both me and many others seem to encounter a problem that the system cant find /magento/install.

I guess this has to be with .htaccess somehow.

Discussions about it - with solutions - goes here..

aFFi, check this post. It looks like mod_rewrite isn’t being loaded.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pofroad
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

I have the same problem, but my mod_rewrite is active !!

[Fri Aug 31 19:33:24 2007] [error] [client 10.0.1.100] File does not exist: /Users/pofroad/Sites/magento/install

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Roy Andre
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  209
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Had a problem with .htaccess on a subdomain-system at our ISP, but when I moved it to the wwwdocs-folder it worked. Mod_Rewrite needs to be enabled, yes.

Now we get an error missing pdo_mysql.. Wonder why this is being used. PHP needs to be recompiled a whole lot of times for this one..

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pofroad
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Ok I had to modify my httpd.conf : AllowOverride was set to None, I changed for All and now all is ok (I mean very nice, quick ... it was worth waiting all August grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Le Capitaine
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Thanks for your help pofroad. I had the same problems than you on EasyPHP

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
piotrekkaminski
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  73
Joined:  2007-09-01
 

the same problem happens if you try to use the apache included with Zend Studio. You need to change AllowOverride to All in /usr/local/Zend/apache2/conf/http.conf or similar file.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tommarks
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

I am trying to setup on a Media Temple (gs) Gridserver, but I have the same install directory not found errors. As far as I know htaccess is enabled on (mt), does anyone have any information that might be able to help me?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
willwade
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

Theres one other reason that you should be aware of that I have just discovered.. And its NOT to do with the obvious mod_rewrite
If you have been a smart alec and downloaded the beta-0.6-latest note that the root .htaccess file is missing - so it wont work :(
To get the latest build working just copy over a beta-0.6 /.htaccess file and it should be good to go

hth

w

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Draakje
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

I have mod-rewrite installed and i also get the blank page when visiting the webfolder with Magento in it. I tried a lot of things already, but no show. I’ll be searching other possibilities. Hope i can get it to work on the server. Allow override in set to all as well…

Edit: I have a LAMP serverI upgraded to php 5.2.0 to install the webshop And with a blank page i mean blank. Not a 404 not found… Just a whiste screen…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top