Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

SOAP V1 / V2 - Create/Update article speed problem

NikkiNikk

Total Posts:  6

Hello!

Im very new to the Magento World and i started to build a PHP applikation to export ERP data (XML) into a Magento Shop.
My scripts works already, but very very very slow. So, i have a few questions to speed everything up!

I have a bunch of simple test articles, and, the workflow is (after building them with the xml data) for every single article:

try to update the article, if the article cannot be created (exception is thrown ..) try to create it.

So, my dilemma is, that a multicall would be better, but i have to check each article, if the article is already saved - update it, or the article is not available - create it.

My 20 test articles need about 40 seconds with a SOAP V1 connection, and over 60 seconds with a SOAP V2 connection (yes, only a different path to the V2 slows the scripting down! anybody knows why? ... (

Any help would be awesome! smile
Hope to hear something from you smile

Greetings!
Niklas

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

NikkiNikk

Total Posts:  6

VanquishSBS - 03 December 2012 02:43 AM

Use V1, not V2, V2 is for specific scenarios and not for standard product updates. Yes, it is slow without an optimized server or if you have a large number of categories/products, you can speed it up by changing indexing to manual update.

Hey Vanquish, thank you very much for your answer!
Ok, so i have to use the V1 to gain more speed.

I found this way to turn the auto index off, and after the import, to start it manually: