Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to modify the mini serach functionlity of magento
 
priyaka1987
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-05-30
 

Since I am new to magento, I am having a great difficulty in modifying the search functionality on main website of magento.
According to the default, we can search the product using their name or SKU, but I want to extend it further so that its also possible to search product using their Model No.
Please help me if its possible to achieve this and if yes how can we implement it through coding?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tzyganu
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  2205
Joined:  2009-11-18
Bucharest, Romania
 

Hello
You can define in Magento what attributes are search-able.
In your case go to Catalog->Attributes->Manage Attributes look for Model No. attribute and edit it.
Set the field ‘Use in Quick Search’ to ‘Yes’ and save the attribute.
Then go to ‘System->Index management’ and rebuild your indexes.
I think you need to rebuild the ‘Search index’ but to be sure rebuild them all.

And clear the cache just in case (System->Cache management).

Cheers,
Marius.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
priyaka1987
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-05-30
 

Hi tzyganu,
Thanks for your reply and its working perfectly fine according to my requirements.
You made my day dude grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Technoduce
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2012-10-15
 
tzyganu - 23 November 2012 05:53 AM

Hello
You can define in Magento what attributes are search-able.
In your case go to Catalog->Attributes->Manage Attributes look for Model No. attribute and edit it.
Set the field ‘Use in Quick Search’ to ‘Yes’ and save the attribute.
Then go to ‘System->Index management’ and rebuild your indexes.
I think you need to rebuild the ‘Search index’ but to be sure rebuild them all.

And clear the cache just in case (System->Cache management).

Cheers,
Marius.

Thanks it is very useful.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top