Magento Forum

   
New to Magento - how do i modify block identifiers on Product page ? 
 
Maverick27
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  133
Joined:  2012-11-12
 

Hi - how do i modify the contents of block identifiers on Product page ?  I’m new to Magento, but work as a Appln. Programmer.

Is the change done from Admin Panel or modifying a script like XML or Php ??  If so, which one(s) ?

Thanks.

Image Attachments
Prod Page.JPG
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Pulkit Seth
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  107
Joined:  2011-08-18
 

hi…

This can be done my modifying the xml and php both… the major control of the product page in magento is from view.phtml of your theme file.
Please explain exactly what changes you want to do in this page, so that i can explain you more clearly.. 

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Maverick27
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  133
Joined:  2012-11-12
 

Thanks Pulkith.

If you look at the image carefully, i want to modify block identifier #2 & #3/4.

For block identifier #2, i simply want to enter some text & enable it on the page.
For block identifier #3/4, i want to create tabs & enter text into the tabs.

thanks,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Maverick27
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  133
Joined:  2012-11-12
 
Maverick27 - 18 November 2012 08:54 AM

Thanks Pulkith for lending a helping hand.

If you look at the 2ximages carefully, i want to modify block identifier #2 & #3/4.

For block identifier #2, i simply want to enter some text+brand logo & enable it on the page.
Image: brand

For block identifier #3/4, i want to create tabs & enter text (laptop specs into the tab.
Image: laptopspecs

Hope this i clear enough.

Thanks,

Image Attachments
brand.JPGlaptopspecs.JPG
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Pulkit Seth
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  107
Joined:  2011-08-18
 

hi…

I got it what you want to do… For block identifier #2, open turn on the debug mode from the magento admin panel and then check the file from where it is coming.. and for block identifier #3/4, they are product Attributes you can easliy get it in products.

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Maverick27
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  133
Joined:  2012-11-12
 

Hi Pulkit

Figured out on how define block identifier #3/4.  I created some attributes & updated Attribute Set to give me what i want, but, qtn is, how do i configure block identifier #2 ??

I’ve set up the static block for it, but is showing for ALL the products ?

How can distinguish it for the diff. Prod categories ?

I simple want to show the Brand logo & some text.  Currently it is showing SAME brand logo for all the prods on the site.

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top