Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 27
Bug reports
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

hi kimchi, this error seems to be related to the Magento downloader in general. Can you install other extensions without problems?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
DennisRyan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-06-23
 

Very cool, i was having problems because i have a deluxe hosting package with multiple domains in different hosting folders.

My suggestions if you have problems with the .htaccess and obviously have .htaccess support enabled and apache try setting your root as:

RewriteBase /

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Hi Fooman, is there known issue that it’s working on the front-end but not admin?

I installed Speedster to a client’s site which is hosted with Crucial web, now everything is not clickable and style sheets are not picked up in admin. I can see speed improvement from front-end though. This is a custom theme located in the default folders but use no magento default style sheets (e.g. no boxes.css file). I don’t think this matters but just in case your script is looking for the same css files names from both frontend/adminhtml.

Thanks! The speed gains is quite impressive though therefor I really love to use it on this site.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kimchi209
Member
 
Total Posts:  67
Joined:  2008-12-22
 

I do have a couple other extensions installed, but havent done any recently. Any thoughts on how to fix that? Should I just reupload a fresh copy of the downloader folder? Or would that screw me up?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Geister
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-06-22
 

Will it work in XAMPP under Windows XP? As far as I understand chmod for m.php is not relevant (or I can’t change it).
I have a css issue after module installation in magento 1.3.2. Everything is screwed (backend and frontend)

1.) Visit the url: http://YOURMAGENTOWEBSITE/lib/minify/m.php

This should return
HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found

YES, it returns HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found

2.) Visit the url: http://YOURMAGENTOWEBSITE/lib/minify/m.php?f=/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

You should see css in a condensed form. Also files starting with minify_ should be written to /var/minifycache.

OK

3.) Change to address http://YOURMAGENTOWEBSITE/minify/1232681243/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

This should show the identical file from step 2.

Nope. Error 404. Object not found.

4.) Go to http://YOURMAGENTOWEBSITE and view the source

Copy and paste the address for the CSS and or JS files into your browser address bar. This should now give a minified output of all your requested files.

Nope. Error 404. Object not found.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

@chinesedream - it’s unusual for the back-end to work but not the front-end. Probably a refresh of your cache will break it.Have you followed the steps outlined in the first post to see how far you get?

@kimchi209 - take a back-up of your site first. Re-installing magento-core/Mage_All_Latest might do the trick. Alternatively you could go to our site http://store.fooman.co.nz/extensions and download Speedster in a zip file.

@Geister, this mean that the rewrite rule in the htacces is not working as it should. Double check you have added it in at the right position and have uncommented the rewriteBase rule. Have a look if this applies to your setup: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/41120/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Geister
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-06-22
 

@Geister, this mean that the rewrite rule in the htacces is not working as it should.

Thanks for pointing this out. Now it’s OK. Seems to become quicker indeed (however still too slow) Thank you!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rodrigo423
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-03-18
 

I have a problem at step3, and not sure what is wrong. Basically, .htaccess at root magento is:

############################################
## you can put here your magento root folder
## path relative to web root

RewriteBase /magento/

############################################
## Compress, Combine and Cache Javascript/CSS
RewriteRule ^(index.php/)?minify/([^/]+)(/.*.(js|css))$ lib/minify/m.php?f=$3&d;=$2

This is at local environment. What seems to be the problem? Thanks,

Rodrigo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

hi Rodrigo, not sure what your setup is like. What do you type in to see the store? just http://localhost ? then you would need to change RewriteBase to /

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rodrigo423
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-03-18
 

Thanks for your reply. I actually tried both local and production site.

My local Url is http://127.0.0.1/magento/

My production site’s url is http://www.mysitename

As for local environment, I put RewriteBase /magento/

For production site it is RewriteBase /public_html/ and also tried RewriteBase / ,but no javascript&css;loading..

Rodrigo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

/magento/ for your local install and / for your production site sounds right. Can you confirm please that you have the same paths in your Magento back-end as (Secure) Base Urls.

Also one more thing to check, the above snippet from your htaccess is that at the end of file? It needs to be roughly in the middle.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rodrigo423
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-03-18
 

The production site doesn’t have secure url at this point because the store hasn’t opened it yet. The base url for the front & back is same.

The suggested part is placed in the middle.of .htaccess file as it is. Thanks for your support.

Rodrigo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rodrigo423
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-03-18
 

Dear Fooman

He privately fixed my issue!  The issue was actually file permission to set 755.

/lib/minify to 755
/lib/minify/m.php to 755
/var/minifycache to 755

Thousands of thanks! When you develop a paid extension, just let me know.  ( ^ _ ^ )

Rodrigo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rodrigo423
Member
 
Total Posts:  32
Joined:  2009-03-18
 

I installed speedster for local environment, but still can’t make it. The problem may be the procedure. This is what I did:

1, install speedster at magento-community/Fooman_Speedster-1.0.4

2, Refresh

3, Go to the site and doesn’t load properly

4.  Upload files to ftp and change file permissions to 755 and download them and replace them.

5, Still doesn’t load properly. I guess the javascript&css;files don’t start compressing. There is only cache.text under the minifycache file.

Rodrigo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

I am slightly confused by your procedure. Uploading and then again downloading will very likely not preserve the changes you made to the file permissions. You would need to do those on your local machine.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 27