Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Customizable Products

pgb315

Total Posts:  13

I’m new to Magento and very impressed so far.  I’ve been running X-Cart for many years and I’d love to migrate away from it.

One of our stores sells highly customizable apparel.  The customer starts off by picking a design out of the product listing.  Then they can customize it by selecting the apparel style (t-shirt, hoodie, etc.), the size (S,M,L,etc.) and the color (white, black, etc.).

Are the following possible in Magento:

1) Can you have dependencies in the attributes?  In other words, each apparel style has it’s own list of available sizes and colors.  Depending on which style is chosen, the available sizes should change.  When a size is chosen, the available colors should change.  All designs and available on every style, size and color, so it would be nice if they could be managed centrally instead of within each product.

2) I don’t need SKUs for each of these variations, so I figured these were just “custom options” in Magento.  If that is true, is it possible to adjust the weight based on an option?  For instance, a 6XL t-shirt is much heavier than a small t-shirt - and this has a significant affect on the shipping price.

If you have any ideas on how this would be best implemented, please let me know. 

Thanks in advance for your help!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Northern Voyageur

Total Posts:  50
Duluth, MN