Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

White/blank screen installation Magento
 
Badmuts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-09
 

So I am trying to install Magento on my VPS, according to the magento-check.php file my server configuration is fine:

Congratulations! Your server meets the requirements for Magento.

You have PHP 5.2.0 (or greater)
Safe Mode is off
You have MySQL 4.1.20 (or greater)
You have the curl extension
You have the dom extension
You have the gd extension
You have the hash extension
You have the iconv extension
You have the mcrypt extension
You have the pcre extension
You have the pdo extension
You have the pdo_mysql extension
You have the simplexml extension

But somehow when I try to run the installation I end up with an white/blank screen. What is causing this problem?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
BelVG
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  306
Joined:  2011-02-16
Minsk, Belarus
 

Hi,

First you should enable the display of the errors in index.php - uncomment ini_set (’display_errors’, 1);
so you can find out what exactly the problem you have

It is possible, that you have problem with low memory allocated to php - In this case in the root of Magento you should
rename php.ini.sample in php.ini and increase memory_limit

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Badmuts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-09
 

Thanks for your reply.

I have error reporting already enabled but it still displays an empty page. Also i adjusted my memory_limit to 256MB that must be enough I think.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vjtemplates
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  408
Joined:  2010-12-15
Washington, USA
 

How about display_errors? Is it ON?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Badmuts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-09
 

That is also enabled. That is making it weird.

Hope someone can help me because Googling the problem didn’t help me alot.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Badmuts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-09
 

Tested 1.6.2 and that worked perfectly. But the new 1.7.0.2 release doesn’t work

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
BelVG
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  306
Joined:  2011-02-16
Minsk, Belarus
 

This data isn’t enough.

Look at the source code of the page (for ex., in Firefox ‘View page source’)
in some cases the error may not be visible on frontend (for example, it falls into a hidden block) but there it will be displayed - so at least you can find out the nature of the error.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Badmuts
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2010-05-09
 

I think i found the problem, I copied all the magento file’s via FTP and somehow it didn’t copy all the files correct. So I installed it threw the terminal and now it is running. Not super fast but that’s typically magento.

Thanks for the feedback!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top