Magento Forum

   
Page 1 of 2
Admin CSS and JS broken
 
purplemine
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  143
Joined:  2008-05-20
London
 

Hi,

Using the latest version and magento 1.2.0.2 the admin css and javascript are not working, in fact there is a 404 error on css and scripts.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hey JHubb,

There seem to be two, probably unrelated, issues:

1.) admin on main site not working
the forwarding from /minify/1234444/skin/frontend/..... to the script is not working.  Have you done the htaccess file modification for both domains?

2.) the urls to images inside the CSS are not replaced correctly. Could you please share your multi-domain setup here. It seems that others are having problems too with multiple domains. If you two guys are on similar to identical setup I will try to recreate it locally for troubleshooting.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
nileco
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  79
Joined:  2008-10-29
Virginia
 

I’m one of the others having similar problems.  I run multiple domains through Magento.

Magento is configured in a ‘mall’ type setup so I have 1 magento website (main.com), this 1 website has several magento stores (main.com,second.com,third.com).  Each magento store shares a single SSL and checkout (main.com).  Each store uses a separate skin.

With multiple domains on my server, each domain name has it’s own public_html and htaccess with everything pointed to the main.com setup.

So anyway that’s what I’m working with.  Hopefully that helps you replicate the problem.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Alright - Version 0.8.0 has just been released.

I have successfully tested it on my local server with 2 domains and 2 websites.

My test setup involved creating symlinks from the document root from shop2.com to mainshop.com. Some more info here under Addon Domain: http://www.crucialwebhost.com/blog/how-to-setup-multiple-magento-stores/

The only additional configuration necessary is to add the absolute path to your main magento installation in this file: /lib/minify/m.php

Let me know how you get on.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
purplemine
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  143
Joined:  2008-05-20
London
 

Hi,

I have updated to Version 0.8.

A couple of notes… Every time I upgrade Speedster it forces upgrade of core modules (which is not good).

I am getting all the CSS OK on multidomain (you have looked into my set up before last year to solve some other problems but my account was purplemine back then) but I am still getting /css/../images in my image links which causes all background images to break.  Apart from that all seems to be OK.  Since 0.8 and 1.2.1 the product images which are tall are no longer re-sizing but I don’t know if this is a related issue as wide images are OK.

If you need access to my setup again I can sort this out.

Thanks,

John

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hey JHubb,

Thanks for the feedback. And yes I do remember seeing your site before. If you could PM me the details again that would be great.

Not too sure what causes the forced upgrade. The extension includes some dependencies, including core above 1.2. But if this is already installed then it should leave it as is. Maybe a Magento/Pear bug?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

One more thing:

Could you try setting up symlinks inside the folder for deadsea. Try one for “skin” to the “skin” folder in your main installation.

The result should be that you can view this image:
http://www.deadseaskincare.co.uk/skin/frontend/images/body_bg.gif

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
purplemine
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  143
Joined:  2008-05-20
London
 

Hi,

Symlinks are already set up and have been all along, the actual link should be:

http://www.deadseaskincare.co.uk/skin/frontend/default/default/images/body_bg.gif

I have just upgraded to the new version and everything works great, background images are back!!!

Thanks so much.

By the way if you have anyone who needs help setting up multiple websites if you direct them my way, I can give them a hand.

John

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hey John, great to hear it is working for you.

Thanks for your help so far in troubleshooting - looks like this could soon become a stable release.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  888
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hey,

I am having the same problem as one of the posters above - when installing through Magento Connect, it FORCES all core modules to be installed as PEAR. I do not want that, as it always HANGS. Is there a way to just install this module??

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hi Lisali,

I have now removed the dependency check for the extension. Seems that the check for Magento to be above 1.2 was enough for the Downloader to install the whole thing....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  888
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hey FOOMAN - thank you SO much. I have been following this extension and really wanted to try it out, and now I can. It seems to install just fine now, and I’ll check how it behaves on my 1and1 setup.
Thanks once again!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MHDesign
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-01-26
 

After installing it my backend hit the bricks. Front-end is super speady (Thanks!) but without the backend I am up a creek. I have it setup on a subdomain (Example abc.matthauth.com) it is in the root of this domain. Is it possible to disable it on the backend? Or fix this problem? Thanks

Cheers

Matt

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MHDesign
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-01-26
 

Found something:

When looking at the backend’s css via the “Web Developer” extension for FF it shows this message for mydomain.com/minify/1233584180/skin/adminhtml/default/default/reset.css,/skin/adminhtml/default/default/boxes.css

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
<html><head>
<title>500 Internal Server Error</title>
</head><body>
<h1>Internal Server Error</h1>
<p>The server encountered an internal error or
misconfiguration and was unable to complete
your request.</p>
<p>Please contact the server administrator,
webmaster@lvw.matthauth.com and inform them of the time the error occurred,
and anything you might have done that may have
caused the error.</p>
<p>More information about this error may be available
in the server error log.</p>
<p>Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error
error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.</p>
</body></html>

I tried accessing it directly and it is inaccessible as well.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

See if this thread helps in troubleshooting.

I’ve also attached an alternative /app/code/community/Fooman/Speedster/Block/Adminhtml/Page/Head.php
That should remove the minifying for the backend (untested).

Good luck

File Attachments
Head.php  (File Size: 5KB - Downloads: 469)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MHDesign
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-01-26
 

Thanks Fooman, it worked like charm.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top
Page 1 of 2