Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Indexing issue

Horatiu Taina

Total Posts:  42

Hi guys,

I have recently counted 167 attributes in my new platform, where I have 51 filterable.

It’s more than obvious, that the problem is the Product Flat Data indexing.

I have checked out the error.log and I get the following:

Exception messageSQLSTATE[42000]Syntax error or access violation1118 Row size too largeThe maximum row size for the used table typenot counting BLOBsis 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs

I studied the issue on the Internet… and found Sonassi’s solution: LINK

But his solution is out of date / version.

So… I would like to change the way the indexing is done. I have to keep all the attributes. When the catalog_product_flat_1 is created, the main problem is the row size of the table. I want to tell Magento to create columns that are varchar(255) with varchar(64) instead.

Where is the file that does that, so that I can change the size of the column?

Thank you,
HTaina

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Horatiu Taina

Total Posts:  42

By the way…

I switched ‘Used in product listing’ to “NO” for my attributes… Reindexing works fine now.

But still… there should be the option to edit a .php file and make some columns smaller.

Thanks again,
HTaina

Magento Community
Magento Community

chiefair
Mentor

Total Posts:  1848

Magento Community
Magento Community

Sunovisio

Total Posts:  94
Ho Chi Minh

Hi Horatiu Taina,