Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Troubleshooting and bug reports
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

The url is almost correct (the 0 after minify should be a timestamp). What happens if you paste this into your address bar?

What paths do you see for images? Also in your Magento backend do you use http://127.0.0.1/magento as your Base Url?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Loic_LC
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  194
Joined:  2007-12-19
Paris, France
 

if I paste it in the adress bar, I get the css, just like you said it’s supposed to be.
I have http://127.0.0.1/magento as base url in the backend.

Is this because I’m testing on local ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Look through the actual css code to find the path information for the images. They get rewritten from relative to absolute paths so something might not work as expected here.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mencargo
Member
 
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2008-09-03
 

My SpeedSter is not working:

Magento is installed on root directory:

http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/

My .htaccess file was edited like this:

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>

############################################
## enable rewrites

    
Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on

############################################
## you can put here your magento root folder
## path relative to web root

    
RewriteBase /

############################################
## Compress, Combine and Cache Javascript/CSS

RewriteRule ^(index.php/)?minify/([^/]+)(/.*.(js|css))$ lib/minify/m.php?f=$3&d;=$2

############################################
## workaround for HTTP authorization
## in CGI environment

    
RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization}]

############################################
## always send 404 on missing files in these folders

    
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/(media|skin|js)/

############################################
## never rewrite for existing files, directories and links

    
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-l

############################################
## rewrite everything else to index.php

    
RewriteRule .* index.php [L]

</IfModule>

When I try the troubleshooting steps I can view:

http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/lib/minify/m.php?f=/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

But not:

http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/minify/1232681243/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

And there is nothing inside var/minifycache/

However, the links for js and css files are correctly generated, althought it’s missing one CSS (is it ok?)

<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/minify/1238458555/skin/frontend/default/default/css/reset.css,/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css,/skin/frontend/default/default/css/menu.css,/skin/frontend/default/default/css/clears.css" media="all"></link
<
script type="text/javascript" src="http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/minify/1238458627/js/prototype/prototype.js,/js/prototype/validation.js,/js/scriptaculous/builder.js,/js/scriptaculous/effects.js,/js/scriptaculous/dragdrop.js,/js/scriptaculous/controls.js,/js/scriptaculous/slider.js,/js/varien/js.js,/js/varien/form.js,/js/varien/menu.js,/js/mage/translate.js,/js/mage/cookies.js" ></script> 
<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/skin/frontend/default/default/css/print.css" media="print"></link>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

Hi mencargo,

it seems that the rewriteRule is not working as expected on your setup. Can you please verify that it reads

RewriteRule ^(index.php/)?minify/([^/]+)(/.*.(js|css))$ lib/minify/m.php?f=$3&d;=$2

Your post contains a ; where it should be a =

Also if this steps work:
http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/lib/minify/m.php?f=/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

You should see files written to /var/minifycache/ . So make sure that the permissions for this folder is correct as well.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mencargo
Member
 
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2008-09-03
 

Sorry, the forum adds a ; before = (there’s a ; extra in your code too)
I don’t know why, anyway, the rule is exactly as the extension install states, I just copy + paste
I have 777 at var/minifycache and 755 at lib/minify/m.php (and the folder).

I have also tried with a rule from older version:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/30357/

No results.
I don’t know if it helps, but the file it gives me when I try step 2, is m.php.css
And the url from next step gives me not found error.
I use mod_php in apache2, with apc.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

can you explain where you get m.php.css ? that sounds odd.

Also you might need to set /var/minifycache to 775

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mencargo
Member
 
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2008-09-03
 

Changed /var/minifycache to 775.
min.php.css is the file that google chrom saves when trying:
http://mercadoempresarial.com.mx/lib/minify/m.php?f=/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css
But it’s ok, I just tested in firefox and it displays it, as your troubleshot guide says, with valid css.
Still nothing saved at minifycache
:S

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

hey mencargo, don’t have any more ideas at this stage. You could try downloading minify directly from here: http://code.google.com/p/minify/

It has a couple of unit tests included to run tests on your environments. Hope that helps.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
yecine06
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-02-20
 

I have the same problem as mencargo,

I followed the instruction and I can’t have the step 3 to work ...

i can see

http://mywebsite.com/lib/minify/m.php?f=/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

But not:

http://mywebsite.com/minify/1232681243/skin/frontend/default/default/css/boxes.css

You can’t help us fooman?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mencargo
Member
 
Total Posts:  45
Joined:  2008-09-03
 

I have a new install, so it’s Magento 1.3.0 with the latest Speedster, maybe there’s a incompatibility issue, or something changed at RewriteRules with 1.3.0?
Anyway, I was testing with Apache2-mpm-prefork + PHP5 + APC, now I will testt with Nginx + FastCGI + APC.
So, if it had something to do with permissions at mod_php it should work with FastCGI.
I’ll post my results later
What version of Magento ar you using yecine06?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FOOMAN
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  669
Joined:  2007-12-13
Auckland, New Zealand
 

At the moment I don’t have any other idea than posted above - there are just too many possible configurations. Maybe try disabling APC to see if this causes the problem.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrmiagi
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2009-03-26
 
FOOMAN - 31 March 2009 01:58 PM

Look through the actual css code to find the path information for the images. They get rewritten from relative to absolute paths so something might not work as expected here.

Hi FOOMAN,

i have the same problem like loic. The rewritten paths for images are wrong, they are now like: “url(/skin/frontend/..)”
i tried to fix this with

$min_documentRoot 'c:\\xampp\\htdocs\\myProjectname';

but that has no result.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Loic_LC
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  194
Joined:  2007-12-19
Paris, France
 

@ mrmiagi
I had that problem on local site only. When I put it to my server, and installed speedster the problem was gone.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
YvesT
Member
 
Total Posts:  38
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Magento 1.3.1 with a custom theme(so not default).
When i install through Magento connect it actually installs.
But the frontend just loses all of its looks, its just text thats left nothing more, no graphics.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top