Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Is it possible to upgrade Magento from version 1.2.1 all the way to 1.7.0

antonio_pereira

Total Posts:  2

Hello All,

Im new to magento and my employer has landed the following task on me: I am to find a way to upgrade Magento from 1.2.1 to 1.7.0.

Is this possible at this stage and if so how can I do it ?

Thanks in advance!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

antonio_pereira

Total Posts:  2

Thank you, i will keep on reading.

Magento Community
Magento Community

MagenX
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  791
Dublin

i think its just a waste of time.
for you is easier to install new magento 1.7 and import your products and users.
you will get clean working shop,
then you have to modify your theme as well.

do not go through upgrade process.

then if you need, import your orders history and statistics, etc.

Magento Community
Magento Community

CT Schubert

Total Posts:  197
Southern California

It’s possible I suppose if you were to upgrade gradually. (from 1.2.x to 1.3.x to 1.4.x, so on and so forth). Keep in mind what 3rd party modules you have as well as knowing that once you hit 1.4.x there are some template changes to take into account.

Magento Community
Magento Community

Sindre|ProperHost
Mentor

Total Posts:  1158