Magento Forum

   
Internal Server Error/Premature end of script headers: index.php during install
 
gmisura
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2012-09-19
 

I downloaded magento-1.7.0.2.zip
Unzipped and put into my docroot: site.com/magento

Changed the permissions per the install guide.

go to site.com/magento in a browser and provide the db info. I click continue and it takes a long time and returns \\\\\\\"Internal Server Error\\\\\\\” (useless info on the page).

The error.log says

[Thu Sep 20 10:01:28 2012] [error] [client 99.103.64.67] Premature end of script headers: index.php

I take this to mean there is a timeout...?

I\\\\\\\’ve tried quite a few options to increase memory limits and timeout limits, like

###
# per
# http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/m/viewthread/29162/#t98130
# http://drupal.org/node/207036
php_value memory_limit 94M
php_value max_execution_time 900000

php_value mysql.connect_timeout 1000000000

# http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/m/viewthread/29162/#t98130
#php_value apc.shm_size 128
#php_value post_max_size 20M
php_value default_socket_timeout 2000000

none of them are working. I\\\\\\\’ve tried various combos of some enabled/disabled/etc.

I tried
RLimitMem 128000000 128000000

per http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/1450/P15/
but apparently that requires root:

(error.log): [Thu Sep 20 14:51:43 2012] [error] Must be uid 0 to raise maximum RLimitMEM

I\\\\\\\’ve also tried with no .htaccess, same result.

The install only gets a certain number of tables setup: 97 once, 107 another time. I thought I saw 200+ once. How many tables are there?

Is there a way to continue? If I go to site.com/magento it gives me an error about an existing table

Error in file: \\\\\\\"/home/myuser/site.com/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/sql/catalog_setup/install-1.6.0.0.php\\\\\\\" - SQLSTATE[42S01]: Base table or view already exists: 1050 Table \\\\\\\’catalog_product_entity\\\\\\\’ already exists

since it tries to install from the beginning instead of where it left off.

magento-check.php says I\\\\\\\’m good:

Congratulations! Your server meets the requirements for Magento.

You have PHP 5.2.0 (or greater)
Safe Mode is off
You have MySQL 4.1.20 (or greater)
You have the curl extension
You have the dom extension
You have the gd extension
You have the hash extension
You have the iconv extension
You have the mcrypt extension
You have the pcre extension
You have the pdo extension
You have the pdo_mysql extension
You have the simplexml extension

Thanks

P.S. The advanced search feature of magento forums (here) are broken: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/search/ shows \\\\\\\"page not found\\\\\\\” message.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gmisura
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2012-09-19
 

I tried

1. add
AddType x-mapp-php5 .php
AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

from http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5817/

Same result (internal server error, premature end of headers).

This is interesting:

For reference, the issue lay in an old include_path in the host’s apache configuration.
I managed to re-create the problem locally on xammp using
php_admin_value include_path \\\".\\\"
in httpd.conf
The admin value cannot be overriden by magento’s set_include_path as opposed to
php_value include_path, which can be.
After removal it now works.

from http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/291885/

I wrote path.php to spit out my path and i\\\’m getting . in there.

Since I\\\’m on a shared server, I don\\\’t have access to change whatever file is including that.
Thoughts on how I might remove the . from the path?

I tried setting the path in php.ini (since I can\\\’t do it in .htaccess):

php_admin_value include_path \\\"/home/myuser/site.com/magento/app/code/local:/home/myuser/site.com/magento/app/code/community:/home/myuser/site.com/magento/app/code/core:/home/myuser/site.com/magento/lib:/usr/local/lib/php:/usr/local/php5/lib/pear\\\"

same result (internal server error, premature end of headers).

Permissions:
$ find site.com/magento/ -type f -exec chmod 0644 {} \\\\;
$ find site.com/magento/ -type d -exec chmod 0755 {} \\\\;

Did not solve the issue either. I only get 158 tables created (I assume there should be more?)

I commented out:

Options +FollowSymLinks

from .htaccess and got 280 tables, then internal server error. I assume that commenting out that line didn\\\’t really matter because I tried with .htaccess removed and got the same problem. I\\\’m guessing i get more tables because the server is less busy and has a chance to run more code before hitting a timeout.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gmisura
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2012-09-19
 

My impression is the install process is not finishing fast enough. I get somewhere between 90 and 200 tables (but not all). So there are no headers because the install is not done.
I’ve tried a bunch of options to try to increase the time php has to run, but nothing has worked so far.

I’ve tried setting the
php_value max_execution_time 900000
very high in both .htaccess and phprc (dreamhost’s config for php.ini on a shared plan).
Doesn’t seem to make any difference.

I tried both the zip and tar-ed files.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gmisura
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  6
Joined:  2012-09-19
 

This is new (in my browser during install):

504 Gateway Time-out

The gateway did not receive a timely response from the upstream server or application.

apache error.log:

[Fri Sep 21 20:56:40 2012] [error] [client 99.103.64.67] Script timed out before returning headers: php53.cgi

I’m using PHP 5.3 FastCGI. Wonder if that’s related.
Trying php 5.2 FastCGI…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Recdepot
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-11-02
 

Bump. im having the exact same issue. On dreamhost as well. is there a solution yet?

any help would be fantastic!

TIA,

C

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
johncc
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-12-03
 

Same problem here using the downloader.php, but it does not look like any help will be forthcoming here, unfortunately.  >:(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
konceptdesign
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2014-03-03
 

Bump. Same problems with both 1.7.0.0 Downloader and 1.8.1.0 full installer. However, my table that already exists is always the same: catalog_product_entity

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top