Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Fedex Tracking not Available on Magento 1.7.0.2
 
cherryrahtu
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2011-11-13
 

Hi, we are running magento 1.7.0.2, after we manually enter Fedex tracking number (12 digits), we clicked on “track the shipment”, it appeared that “the shipment tracking is not available”, but we can track it on Fedex website.

What is the problem and how to fix it? anyone know?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mosleyit
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-08-17
 

bump

Federal Express

Trackable on Fedex website

Tracking information is currently not available. Please contact us for more information or email us at

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NathanDEV
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2012-10-05
 

I created a solution earlier this morning for this error.
Solves this problem in Community Edition 1.7.0.2
Not sure about earlier versions for other users, i believe some of the variables are different, but you can use my model to help you solve this error.

Fixes included are for USPS, Fedex, and UPS.
Other carriers can be added using my model and the corresponding tracking link for said shipping carrier.
For users who use UPS:
We only use USPS and Fedex on our store so the UPS link has not been tested fully.
If the tracking numbers you copy from UPS include “1Z” at the beginning of them, remove the “1Z” from the UPS link in the code below. If they do not, and are only numbers, the code below inserts the needed “1Z” at the beginning. Once again, I do not ship through UPS so i’m not sure how the tracking numbers there are formatted.

Once again, this fix has only been tested in CE 1.7.0.2
….
in app/design/frontend/base/default/template/shipping/tracking/popup.phtml
delete all of the code between <tbody> (around line 44) and <?php elseif($track->getTrackSummary()): ?>
paste the following code in-between those two lines:

<?php if(is_object($track)): ?>
                    
<tr>
                        <
th class="label"><?php echo $this->__('Tracking Number:'); ?></th>
                        <
td class="value">
                        
<?php echo $this->escapeHtml($track->getTracking()); ?></td>
                    </
tr>
                    
                    
<?php
                    $trackingnumberfix 
str_replace (" """$track->getTracking());
                    
?>
                    
                    <?php 
if ($track->getCarrierTitle()): ?>
                    
<tr>
                        <
th class="label"><?php echo $this->__('Carrier:'); ?></th>
                        <
td class="value"><?php echo $this->escapeHtml($track->getCarrierTitle()); ?></a></td>
                    </
tr>
                    
                    
<?php endif; ?>
                    
                    <?php 
if ($track->getCarrierTitle() == 'United States Postal Service'): ?>
                    
<tr>
                        <
th class="label"><?php echo $this->__('Tracking:'); ?></th>
                        <
td class="value"><?php echo '<a href="https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction_input?qtc_tLabels1='$trackingnumberfix .'">';?>
                        <?php 
echo '<font color="#0000FF">Click Here to track package #'$trackingnumberfix '.'?></font></a></td>
                    </
tr>
                    
                    
<?php elseif ($track->getCarrierTitle() == 'Federal Express'): ?>
                    
<tr>
                        <
th class="label"><?php echo $this->__('Tracking:'); ?></th>
                        <
td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="http://www.fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&tracknumbers;='$trackingnumberfix .'">';?>
                        <?php 
echo '<font color="#0000FF">Click Here to track package #'$trackingnumberfix '.'?></font></a></td>
                    </
tr>
                    
                    
<?php elseif ($track->getCarrierTitle() == 'United Parcel Service'): ?>
                    
<tr>
                        <
th class="label"><?php echo $this->__('Tracking:'); ?></th>
                        <
td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/track?track=yes&trackNums;=1Z'$trackingnumberfix .'">';?>
                        <?php 
echo '<font color="#0000FF">Click Here to track package #'$trackingnumberfix '.'?></font></a></td>
                    </
tr>
                    
                    
                    
<?php endif; ?>

                    
                    <?php 
if($track->getErrorMessage()): ?>

You’re welcome
wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
EKG_Marketing
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2012-05-08
 

There was a small issue with the code. The “fix” works, but you still have to manually copy the tracking number to the carriers site. I found that there is a semi-colon “;” before the “=” which precedes the tracking number in the URL.

Here are the 2 lines corrected… Now you can just click on the link and the tracking number is passed to the carrier correctly. This is the first time I have ever fixed anything on here, I hope it works for everyone!

<td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="http://www.fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&tracknumbers;='. $trackingnumberfix .'">';?>

<td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/track?track=yes&trackNums;=1Z'. $trackingnumberfix .'">';?>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
djstamos
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2008-09-28
 

Here is what finally worked.
<td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#efefef"><a href="http://www.fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&tracknumbers;='. $trackingnumberfix .'">';?>

Now the tracking number is entered into FEDEX.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
clarkbetty
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2012-06-09
 

We have CE 1.7.0.2 and its working fine out of the box. However, you must enter your web services key, password and meter number entered in Magento or you will get the above error mentioned here.

To get this key, go to Fedex.com web services and call their support team.. or DIY -

1. Go to Fedex.com/developer
2. Go to Technical Resources
3. Click on Get Started with FedEx Web Services for Shipping
4. Click Move to Production
5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Obtain Production Key
6. Follow the steps.

Important - you need to be signed into your Fedex account to commence the process. The ‘key’asked for in Magento is the authentication key that Fedex will give you at the end of the process. The password is not your account password (that you use with Fedex.com). Its a crazy long password that will come in the email that Fedex will send you when you have completed the process.

Hope this helps =)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
IAG Design
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-05-06
 

Here is what worked for me on FedEx.

Replace

<td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="http://www.fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&tracknumbers;='$trackingnumberfix .'">';?>

With

<td class="value"><?php echo '<font color="#0000FF"><a href="https://www.fedex.com/fedextrack/?tracknumbers='$trackingnumberfix .'">';?>

Also if you changed the name of the shipping option from Federal Express to FedEx or something else make sure to change it in the getCarrierTitle line.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gcobbunc1
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2012-01-25
Summerfield NC
 

FedEx now offers “event based” tracking, along with “on demand” tracking that this blog mentions.  Allow your customers to choose to be automatically notified, even by text message.

Check out this extension that fully integrates Magento with the latest FedEx APIs:
http://www.cobbconsulting.net/magent-fedex-extensions.html

It also allows users to print shipping labels with 3 simple clicks, detailed address validation, and enhanced rate quotes (customize package dimensions, weights, and number of packages)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
khpet
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2013-07-19
 
clarkbetty - 28 March 2013 10:24 AM

We have CE 1.7.0.2 and its working fine out of the box. However, you must enter your web services key, password and meter number entered in Magento or you will get the above error mentioned here.

To get this key, go to Fedex.com web services and call their support team.. or DIY -

1. Go to Fedex.com/developer
2. Go to Technical Resources
3. Click on Get Started with FedEx Web Services for Shipping
4. Click Move to Production
5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Obtain Production Key
6. Follow the steps.

Important - you need to be signed into your Fedex account to commence the process. The ‘key’asked for in Magento is the authentication key that Fedex will give you at the end of the process. The password is not your account password (that you use with Fedex.com). Its a crazy long password that will come in the email that Fedex will send you when you have completed the process.

Hope this helps =)

Entering my FedEx Web Services info solved this problem for me too! FedEx tracking info now displays nicely within a popup window so the customer can track an order without having to leave the website.

Thank you for your help!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top