Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Upgrade CE 1.4.0.1 to 1.7.0.2

Kev261266

Total Posts:  5

Hiya,

As a web designer I\\\’ve been approached by a client who has a Magento CE site running 1.4.0.1 and he is asking me to upgrade to the latest version. As a Joomla designer I appreciate that upgrading can be a total nightmare and can destroy what was a functioning site, this is usually all for the sake of adding a small amount of extra functionality and a few redesigned icons within the backend.

My question, is it worth doing the upgrade in Magento? will I get a lot of increased functionality and stability? or is it better to leave the site as is? I know I have a lot of Joomla sites still running 1.5 without any problems.

If it is in my clients best interests to upgrade, then what’s the safest way to do this, so as to avoid losing his catalogues, pricing, themes, etc.

The only problem I see with the site in it\\\’s current version is that the site search box is not stable and appears to hover over the main menu when viewed in google chrome, whether this would be rectified by the upgrade, I don\\\’t know.

Any help or any pointers to some good info on the above would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Kev.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

MagenX
Enthusiast

Total Posts:  791
Dublin

functionality maybe, stability not sure smile
what you have to do, just install magento 1.7 locally, on your PC,
import DB, move all templates, and see how it goes.

cheers

Magento Community
Magento Community

Kev261266

Thanks for the feedback,