Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Seven Year Veteran’s thoughts after six weeks

Aki_Tendo

Total Posts:  3

Hello.  I recently was hired into a company which is converting their custom in house OS commerce package to Magento Enterprise. I’ve been working with PHP for seven years, and have experience with several of Magento’s spiritual ancestors / competitors including ZenCart and OSCommerce.  These are my thoughts after six weeks.

Overall code organization is above average, but still leaves some things to be desired.  The XML configurations for different object types is inconsistent - and the XML parser doesn’t throw an error on most failure types leading to some degree of frustration.  The most serious inconsistency I’ve found is controller overrides - when you do one of these you have to use a require_once call on the router you are extending from.

There is still considerable code duplication, particularly in the templates, and drastically in the XML files.  In my opinion, the XML has exceeded the scope of being the configuration of the store and become a programming language in its own right. This problem is not exclusive to Magento - but a common one of deferment. Eventually programmatic decisions must be made.

Magento classes are not granular enough to allow for effective polymorphic programming. Most all functions I’ve seen in the system perform multiple tasks.