Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

XML Error
 
Yeti-Man
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Hello Friend,

I am getting XML warning in my installation time.Can any body help me please?

Error as belows:

Warning: simplexml_load_string() [function.simplexml-load-string]: Entity: line 1: parser error : String not started expecting ‘ or “ in D:\wamp\www\magento\lib\Varien\Simplexml\Config.php on line 266[0] in simplexml_load_string(”
D:\wamp\www\magento\lib\Varien\Simplexml\Config.php on line 266[1] in Varien_Simplexml_Config->loadString(”
D:\wamp\www\magento\lib\Varien\Simplexml\Config.php on line 254[2] in Varien_Simplexml_Config->loadFile("D:\wamp\www\magento\app\etc\co") in D:\wamp\www\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Core\Model\Config.php on line 81[3] in Mage_Core_Model_Config->init(NULL) in D:\wamp\www\magento\app\Mage.php on line 326[4] in Mage::init(NULL) in D:\wamp\www\magento\app\Mage.php on line 345[5] in Mage::run("base") in D:\wamp\www\magento\index.php on line 27

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yeti-Man
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Seems no one has answer for above problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Please open app/etc/config.xml and make sure that it has a valid XML, it might have been corrupted during file copy?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yeti-Man
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Thank you Moshe but I don’t think this is a problem. I have just valid XML on http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_input and got a good result.Could you please check on the code of XML which are listed in my config file. Code as below:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<config>
<global>
<install>
<date></date>
</install>

<resources>
<default_setup>
<connection>
<host>localhost</host>
<username></username>

<dbname>magento</dbname>

<model>mysql5</model>
<initStatements>SET NAMES utf8</initStatements>
<type>pdo_mysql</type>
<active>0</active>
</connection>
</default_setup>
<default_write>
<connection>
<host>localhost</host>
<username></username>

<dbname>magento</dbname>

<model>mysql5</model>
<initStatements>SET NAMES utf8</initStatements>
<type>pdo_mysql</type>
<active>0</active>
</connection>
</default_write>
<default_read>
<connection>
<use>default_write</use>
</connection>
</default_read>

<core_setup>
<setup>
<module>Mage_Core</module>
</setup>
<connection>
<use>default_setup</use>
</connection>
</core_setup>
<core_write>
<connection>
<use>default_write</use>
</connection>
</core_write>
<core_read>
<connection>
<use>default_read</use>
</connection>
</core_read>
</resources>

<resource>

<connection>
<types>

<class>Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Type_Db_Pdo_Mysql</class>
</pdo_mysql>
<mysqli>
<class>Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Type_Db_Mysqli</class>
</mysqli>
<mysqli_setup>
<class>Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Type_Db_Mysqli_Setup</class>
</mysqli_setup>
</types>
</connection>
</resource>
<models>
<core>
<class>Mage_Core_Model</class>
<resourceModel>core_mysql5</resourceModel>
</core>

<core_mysql4>
<class>Mage_Core_Model_Mysql5</class>
<entities>
<config_data>
<table>core_config_data</table>
</config_data>
<website>
<table>core_website</table>
</website>
<store>
<table>core_store</table>
</store>
<resource>
<table>core_resource</table>
</resource>
</entities>
</core_mysql4>
</models>
</global>

<modules>
<Mage_Core>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Core>
<Mage_Eav>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Eav>
<Mage_Page>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Page>
<Mage_Install>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Install>
<Mage_Admin>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Admin>
<Mage_Rule>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Rule>
<Mage_Adminhtml>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Adminhtml>
<Mage_Cron>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Cron>
<Mage_Directory>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Directory>
<Mage_Customer>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Customer>
<Mage_Catalog>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Catalog>
<Mage_CatalogSearch>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_CatalogSearch>
<Mage_CatalogExcel>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_CatalogExcel>
<Mage_CatalogRule>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_CatalogRule>
<Mage_Giftcert>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Giftcert>
<Mage_Sales>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Sales>
<Mage_SalesRule>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_SalesRule>
<Mage_Checkout>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Checkout>
<Mage_Shipping>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Shipping>
<Mage_Payment>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Payment>
<Mage_Usa>
<active>true</active>
<codePool>core</codePool>
</Mage_Usa>
<Mage_Paygate>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iblastoff
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

why would you try to validate xml through an html validator and how the heck could it have even validated through it??

looking at your copy/paste, unless you didnt paste the whole thing, you’re definitely missing a lot of it. a quick glance would tell you theres clearly no closing </config> to say the least

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yeti-Man
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Sorry for not able to paste whole code of config.xml file.I have checked whole xml code again and couldn’t find any thing missing there. I am uploading the file now. Here it is:

File Attachments
config.xml  (File Size: 9KB - Downloads: 101)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Fabio Trezzi
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-03-29
 

I don’t know if it’s the only tag missing but in your code you don’t have any starting tag for pdo_mysql

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top