Magento Forum

   
Upgrade to 1.7 from 1.6, now the API is not working
 
SillyJokes
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-02-07
 

Hi,

I upgraded to 1.7 (from 1.6) via connect (on my test site)

Everything seemed to be working OK, including the API.

I am accessing the api via vb.net.

Today, after updating the web service reference, the API stopped working.

Restored my vb project to an earlier version and its all fine again.

I think there may be something wrong with the WSDL.

Has anyone got any ideas?

Hope that all makes some kind of sense, thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3215
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Have you tried accessing from another app besides vb?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
SillyJokes
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-02-07
 
Brent W Peterson - 18 May 2012 05:34 AM

Have you tried accessing from another app besides vb?

No, but its working at the moment with my restored version of my vb program.

I’ve had a look at the bug reports and it has been reported a couple of times, i will sit tight and hope it get fixed before I go live.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tomasjerald
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2012-01-16
 

The first important thing to consider while migration is to choose the best method for it. Connect Manager is one of the best, and it is a rare occasion, when it is something wrong with it.

I would also sagets to take a look at upgrading via FTP. It is understandable enough, but to start with, make sure you take a complete backup of your Magento website.
Than, create a directory in your Magento install and name it with any name you want to use.
Now upload Magento 1.7 files, into newly created directory i.e. TEST
Create a new MySQL database with new username for your Magento website.
Import the database (Backed up in step 1) into this newly created database.
Modify the core_config_table base_urls to point to your test location, e.g.www.store.url.com/test/
In order to use new database, you need to modify app/etc/local.xml
In the end of the way, just run the frontend and backend of website.

If you want to go easier way, take a look at Cart2Cart service to upgrade the store to the newest version automatically http://www.shopping-cart-migration.com/shopping-cart-migration-options/223-magento-to-magento-migration . It is also worth attention

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top