Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to migrate customers and the connected orders from Magento 1.4.1 to 1.6.0? 

thejeed

Total Posts:  2

Hello Magento Community!

I’m a developer and using Magento for the first time. In my new Job, i got the task to migrate all customers with their orders from the old Magento shop to the new one on another server. I thought about several things that end up in a lot of work. I see that customers and orders won’t be enough: I guess we also have to migrate the products, and so on.

So i wanted to ask you if there is some common way to solve this problem. If there are maybe several ways to achieve this goal, i’d like to learn about it.

Please notice that the old Magento runs ver 1.4.1 while the destination server has an instance of 1.6.1. We use the community edition.

Thank you very much

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

AITOC
Guru

Total Posts:  618
US

Hello,

Please take a look at Orders Export and Import extension, which will enable you to export the orders from your old Magento install and import them into the new one.
Try searching Magento Connect for a solution to migrate customers.

Magento Community
Magento Community

thejeed

Thanks a lot you for your answer. If I get this plugin and transfer the users, how will these users connect to the orders finally. Are there some unique IDs by which the orders will be associated to their customers automatically?

Magento Community
Magento Community

AITOC
Guru

Total Posts:  618
US