Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Create order in backend, customer email address missing
 
NGGames
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2009-04-27
 

We are running 1.6.2.0 and when we create a new order in the backend, and select ‘New customer’, we have a nice page where we can create the new order. However, we can not fill in a customer emailaddress. Normally the emailaddress can be entered after the Customer Group, but for some reason it’s missing. I already tried re-uploading app/design/adminhtml and app/code/code but this didn’t solve the problem. Very strange!

Someone could help us with this?

Image Attachments
Schermafbeelding 2012-04-16 om 13.29.01.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seansan
Member
 
Total Posts:  62
Joined:  2010-01-27
 

This one got me boggled too

We have the exact same problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
HectorPN
Member
 
Total Posts:  74
Joined:  2010-03-21
Adelaide, Australia
 

Did you find a solution to this? Running 1.7 and it is not displaying an email field when creating a backend order. Magento is creating a dummy @example.com address instead.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seansan
Member
 
Total Posts:  62
Joined:  2010-01-27
 

It is probably some extension ... .

But I have no clue

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seansan
Member
 
Total Posts:  62
Joined:  2010-01-27
 

Lets start with: we still have no idea how and why

We just hired a magento dev to debug @ 100 USD .... and that resulted in another “we dont know” and this code

Here is a fix in core files that at least works:

EDIT
/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/Sales/Order/Create/Form/Account.php

and add this TEMP MODIFICATION

// add system required attributes
foreach ($customerForm->getSystemAttributes() as $attribute) {
/* @var $attribute Mage_Customer_Model_Attribute */

if ($attribute->getIsRequired()||$attribute->getAttributeCode()=="email") { // TEMP MODIFICATION

$attributes[$attribute->getAttributeCode()] = $attribute;
}
}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seansan
Member
 
Total Posts:  62
Joined:  2010-01-27
 

ADD:

Normally if $attribute is ‘email’ the function getIsRequired() returns true. Here, for some reason, it returns false.

Some extension, or somethin, somewhere has caused the getIsRequired() to return false

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
HectorPN
Member
 
Total Posts:  74
Joined:  2010-03-21
Adelaide, Australia
 

Thanks so much, that fixed it!

It still remains a mystery what caused it but at least it is back to normal now. Thanks for sharing.

For other readers, it must be noted that instead of editing the file under code/core it is best to replicate it under code/local

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
firefire123
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2011-11-09
 

maybe different post? but i want to make the email a required field

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top