Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

There was a problem with reindexing process. 
 
DmitryM
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2009-07-22
 

Hey guys, could someone hint me where the problem can be?

I have added a new categories and placed a products there. When I tried to rebuild the indexes I have got the following message
“There was a problem with reindexing process.\\\”
This happened on the Category Products indexation. All other items seem fine.

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
OpenCommerce
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  84
Joined:  2009-05-28
Cincinnati, OH
 

You can fix the issue by removing your lock files. Go to var/locks and delete the files in there. It should unlock the re-indexing process.

Thanks,
TinyBrick

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Stratus99
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2012-09-06
 

Hi there

I’m having a similar problem

I’m getting “there was a problem with reindexing process” for both “Category Flat Data” as well as “Product Prices”

I’ve tried re-indexing all using a script like this:

<?php  
 
require_once 'app/Mage.php';  
 
$app Mage::app('admin');  
 
umask(0);  
 for (
$index 1$index <= 8$index++) {  
     $process 
Mage::getModel('index/process')->load($index);  
     
$process->reindexAll();  
 
}

I’ve tried truncating catalog_category_flat_store_1

I’ve tried ‘repairing’ the database

I’ve tried deleting my locks and my other various things in var

still getting it

Also..  I can’t access products or add them .. I get one of those wonderful errors - :-(

Anybody have any ideas?

cheers
-st

PS:  i’m running a 1.5.1 install and using a custom theme .. if that makes any difference (It has to be 1.5.1 because I need to connect it to lightspeed pos software)

PPS:  I also tried this: http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/steps_to_solve_re-indexing_errors_in_magento_admin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ncotrona
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  161
Joined:  2009-05-15
 

Same Issue Here - Am Unable to find a solution

Product Flat File: Cannot initialize the indexer process.

I am getting a error when trying to run the index process through the backend.  I read all of the posts regarding this error and have tried all of the fixes, however, none of them have resolved my issue....

Below is the error that I get when I try to run the index process via SSH...Does anyone know how to interpret the error below to assist in resolving this error?

Product Flat Data index process unknown error:
exception ‘PDOException’ with message ‘SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1118 Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535.

You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs’ in /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php:228

Stack trace:
#0 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php(228): PDOStatement->execute(Array)
#1 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Statement/Pdo/Mysql.php(110): Zend_Db_Statement_Pdo->_execute(Array)
#2 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement.php(300): Varien_Db_Statement_Pdo_Mysql->_execute(Array)
#3 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(479): Zend_Db_Statement->execute(Array)
#4 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Abstract.php(238): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’, Array)
#5 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(419): Zend_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Abstract->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’, Array)
#6 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(340): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’)
#7 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(839): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->raw_query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’)
#8 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(799): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->addColumn(’catalog_product...’, ‘ead_homeowner_u...’, Array)
#9 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(1390): Mage_Catalog_Model_Resource_Product_Flat_Indexer->prepareFlatTable(3)
#10 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(296): Mage_Catalog_Model_Resource_Product_Flat_Indexer->reindexAll()
#11 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Indexer/Flat.php(336): Mage_Catalog_Model_Product_Flat_Indexer->reindexAll()
#12 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Index/Model/Process.php(209): Mage_Catalog_Model_Product_Indexer_Flat->reindexAll()
#13 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Index/Model/Process.php(255): Mage_Index_Model_Process->reindexAll()
#14 /public_html/shell/indexer.php(158): Mage_Index_Model_Process->reindexEverything()
#15 /public_html/shell/indexer.php(198): Mage_Shell_Compiler->run()
#16 {main}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
code2012
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2012-09-17
 

TRUNCATE `catalog_product_flat_1;

and remove everything from var/locks…

but before that take backup first.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
code2012
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2012-09-17
 

1. Backup the SQL table “catalog_category_product_index” with “Disable foreign key checks” ticked.
2. Drop the table.
3. Remove the constraints at the bottom of the backup file, except “SET FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=1;”
so on my file it was this
“ALTER TABLE `catalog_category_product_index`
ADD CONSTRAINT `FK_CATALOG_CATEGORY_PROD_IDX_CATEGORY_ENTITY` FOREIGN KEY (`category_id`) REFERENCES `catalog_category_entity` (`entity_id`) ON DELETE CASCADE ON UPDATE CASCADE,
ADD CONSTRAINT `FK_CATALOG_CATEGORY_PROD_IDX_PROD_ENTITY` FOREIGN KEY (`product_id`) REFERENCES `catalog_product_entity` (`entity_id`) ON DELETE CASCADE ON UPDATE CASCADE;”
4. Save and Import your backup file, or runt the sql directly.
5. You should then be able to run the re-index from the magento backend.
6. If 5 did not work(you might have thousands of products) SSH to your install and go to /shell/ and run this command.
“php indexer.php –reindex catalog_category_product”
if you want to re-index all run this “php indexer.php reindexall”
That’s it, i hope this helps some one…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ncotrona
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  161
Joined:  2009-05-15
 

Thank You XAP1

I followed these instructions and all steps completed successfully.  At the end, I still get the same error…

Product Flat Data index process unknown error:
exception ‘PDOException’ with message ‘SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1118 Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs’ in /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php:228
Stack trace:
#0 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php(228): PDOStatement->execute(Array)
#1 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Statement/Pdo/Mysql.php(110): Zend_Db_Statement_Pdo->_execute(Array)
#2 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Statement.php(300): Varien_Db_Statement_Pdo_Mysql->_execute(Array)
#3 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(479): Zend_Db_Statement->execute(Array)
#4 /public_html/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Abstract.php(238): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’, Array)
#5 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(419): Zend_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Abstract->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’, Array)
#6 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(340): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’)
#7 /public_html/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(839): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->raw_query(’ALTER TABLE `ca...’)
#8 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(799): Varien_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Mysql->addColumn(’catalog_product...’, ‘ead_homeowner_u...’, Array)
#9 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(1390): Mage_Catalog_Model_Resource_Product_Flat_Indexer->prepareFlatTable(3)
#10 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Flat/Indexer.php(296): Mage_Catalog_Model_Resource_Product_Flat_Indexer->reindexAll()
#11 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Indexer/Flat.php(336): Mage_Catalog_Model_Product_Flat_Indexer->reindexAll()
#12 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Index/Model/Process.php(209): Mage_Catalog_Model_Product_Indexer_Flat->reindexAll()
#13 /public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Index/Model/Process.php(255): Mage_Index_Model_Process->reindexAll()
#14 /public_html/shell/indexer.php(158): Mage_Index_Model_Process->reindexEverything()
#15 /public_html/shell/indexer.php(198): Mage_Shell_Compiler->run()
#16 {main}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ncotrona
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  161
Joined:  2009-05-15
 

XAP -

The index I am having problems with is Product Flat Data .  I am not sure if you referenced the correct database table for the Product Flat Data, Please confirm.

Thanks Much
N

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mirasvit
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  639
Joined:  2009-08-22
 

Hi

Indeed when a large number of goods or attributes need to be saved, backend works very slow, as each time you save data the system re-indexes the goods through the entire catalog.
Asynchronous Re-indexing is a solution of this problem. When a product or category is saved it is not immediately re-indexed, but put into a queue. The queue is re-indexed in the background. This greatly speeds up the backend. This mechanism is implemented by using an extension of http://mirasvit.com/magento-extensions/magento-asynchronous-reindex.html

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top