Magento Forum

   
Product view page returns “404 not found 1” error
 
mrsbinaryads
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2012-03-23
 

Hi everyone,

I have been battling with this issue over a week now and cannot find any resource online to fix it.

My website: http://www.stjamestutorials.com/gwpja home page loads fine, category pages load fine too, however, when I try to view each product i get the 404 not found error seen here http://www.stjamestutorials.com/gwpja/appliance/multicooker-with-removable-cooking-pot.html.

I have url rewrites on, .htaccess file in my root directory contains this:

RLimitMem 1280000000 1280000000

Options -MultiViews
############################################
## uncomment these lines for CGI mode
## make sure to specify the correct cgi php binary file name
## it might be /cgi-bin/php-cgi

# Action php5-cgi /cgi-bin/php5-cgi
# AddHandler php5-cgi .php

############################################
## GoDaddy specific options

# Options -MultiViews

## you might also need to add this line to php.ini
# cgi.fix_pathinfo = 1
## if it still doesn’t work, rename php.ini to php5.ini
############################################
## this line is specific for 1and1 hosting

#AddType x-mapp-php5 .php
#AddHandler x-mapp-php5 .php

############################################
## default index file

#DirectoryIndex index.php

<IfModule mod_php5.c>

############################################
## adjust memory limit

# php_value memory_limit 64M
php_value memory_limit 256M
php_value max_execution_time 18000
############################################
## disable magic quotes for php request vars

php_flag magic_quotes_gpc off

############################################
## disable automatic session start
## before autoload was initialized

php_flag session.auto_start off

############################################
## enable resulting html compression

#php_flag zlib.output_compression on

###########################################
# disable user agent verification to not break multiple image upload

php_flag suhosin.session.cryptua off

###########################################
# turn off compatibility with PHP4 when dealing with objects

php_flag zend.ze1_compatibility_mode Off

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_security.c>
###########################################
# disable POST processing to not break multiple image upload

SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_deflate.c>
############################################
## enable apache served files compression
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#gzip

# Insert filter on all content
###SetOutputFilter DEFLATE
# Insert filter on selected content types only
#AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript

# Netscape 4.x has some problems…
#BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4 gzip-only-text/html

# Netscape 4.06-4.08 have some more problems
#BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4\.0[678] no-gzip

# MSIE masquerades as Netscape, but it is fine
#BrowserMatch \bMSIE !no-gzip !gzip-only-text/html

# Don’t compress images
#SetEnvIfNoCase Request_URI \.(?:gif|jpe?g|png)$ no-gzip dont-vary

# Make sure proxies don’t deliver the wrong content
#Header append Vary User-Agent env=!dont-vary

</IfModule>
<IfModule mod_ssl.c>

############################################
## make HTTPS env vars available for CGI mode

SSLOptions StdEnvVars

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>

############################################
## enable rewrites

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on

############################################
## you can put here your magento root folder
## path relative to web root

#RewriteBase /gwpja/

############################################
## workaround for HTTP authorization
## in CGI environment

RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization}]

############################################
## always send 404 on missing files in these folders

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/(media|skin|js)/
############################################
## never rewrite for existing files, directories and links

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-l

############################################
## rewrite everything else to index.php

RewriteRule .* index.php [L]

</IfModule>

############################################
## Prevent character encoding issues from server overrides
## If you still have problems, use the second line instead

AddDefaultCharset Off
#AddDefaultCharset UTF-8

<IfModule mod_expires.c>

############################################
## Add default Expires header
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#expires

ExpiresDefault “access plus 1 year”

</IfModule>

############################################
## By default allow all access

Order allow,deny
Allow from all

###########################################
## Deny access to release notes to prevent disclosure of the installed Magento version

<Files RELEASE_NOTES.txt>
order allow,deny
deny from all
</Files>

############################################
## If running in cluster environment, uncomment this
## http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#etags

#FileETag none

Also when I add to cart, i get the following: “cannot add the item to shopping cart.”

I do anticipate a speedy response

Thanks,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrsbinaryads
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2012-03-23
 

Can someone help me please? rolleyes

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hobbit01
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2010-10-26
 

Hi there,

You picked a good day to post! I just had the exact same problem for a client and I just managed to resolve this issue by digging around. So thought i’d give you a hand…

If you are using Magento 1.5 or 1.6 , and your product pages are all going to 404 Not Found Page, then thats a headache for sure. We just spent ages trying to fix this. And finally found the bug!
It was report_event_types .
Last week, we optimized the Magento Database and cleared all the report events tables and log tables. And then we saw that all product pages were sending me to 404 not found error.
So, here is the fix :

Goto phpmyadmin and run this command :

INSERT INTO `report_event_types` (`event_type_id`, `event_name`, `customer_login`) VALUES
(1, ‘catalog_product_view’, 1),
(2, ‘sendfriend_product’, 1),
(3, ‘catalog_product_compare_add_product’, 1),
(4, ‘checkout_cart_add_product’, 1),
(5, ‘wishlist_add_product’, 1),
(6, ‘wishlist_share’, 1);

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrsbinaryads
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2012-03-23
 

VERY BIG THANKS!!!! It works perfectly for me now!

grin grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hobbit01
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2010-10-26
 

It was just by luck I saw your post while looking for a solution and thought i’d do my good deed for the day wink

Glad it worked.....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mrsbinaryads
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2012-03-23
 

And I thought i scoured the internet in my days of searching lol

thanks a mil!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ggarth
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-08-12
 

OMG Hobbit01! I love you! (in a bro love way) lol.

This issue plagued our main website and I ended up fixing it by throwing everything but the kitchen sink at it. And I recently setup a test version of that website that’s nested in another sub-folder, with a copied db of the main one. Received the same 404 errors and was about to go crazy that I could fix it, and I swear I scoured the internet for two days straight for about 18hrs each and couldn’t find this…

IT WORKS! Will definitely be adding this to my Magento set of tools.

And just as a small note if anyone runs into any issues with this, if you get an error in phpMyAdmin about your syntax, then you’ll need to retype the apostrophes because it saw what I copied from this blog as rich text.

This seriously should get added to a Magento manual somewhere.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top