Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
How To Upgrade Magento from 1.4. version to Magento 1.5 and 1.6? 
 
zafardeveloper
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-03-12
 

Lets imaging that you have Magento 1.4.1.1. web store and you need to upgrade it to 1.5. or 1.6 version. First of all it is highly recommended to backup your live store files and database.

Next you need to get SSH access from your hosting provider and connect to your server via SSH protocol. After connection via SSH go to your store folder and execute these commands:

1 – Change permissions on lib/pear folder to writable (recursively):

chmod -R 777 lib/PEAR

2 – Execute this command to prepare Magento for upgrade:

./pear mage-setup

Most likely you will see this result after command execution:

Channel “connect.magentocommerce.com/core” is already initialized

Upgrade from Magento 1.4.1.x to Magento 1.4.2.0

This step is necessary even if you upgrade your Magento store to 1.5 or 1.6 versions.

3 – Execute Magento upgrade command:

./pear upgrade -f magento-core/Mage_All_Latest-stable

Output of the command will show you what core packages were upgraded:

…
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Mage_Centinel-1.4.2.0
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Interface_Frontend_Base_Default-1.4.2.0
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Phoenix_Moneybookers-1.2.3
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Find_Feed-1.0.7
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Interface_Adminhtml_Default-1.4.2.0

4 – When this part of the upgrade will be complete, enter these commands:

chmod 550 ./mage
./mage mage-setup .

You will see this result after command execution:

Successfully added: http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community

It means that Magento connect 2.0 channel was added to the channels list successfully.

5 – Next, enter this command:

./mage sync

The result will be:

…
Successfully added: community/Mage_Locale_en_US-1.4.2.0
Successfully added: community/Interface_Install_Default-1.4.2.0
Successfully added: community/Phoenix_Moneybookers-1.2.3
Successfully added: community/Mage_Downloader-1.5.0.0
Successfully added: community/Lib_Google_Checkout-1.4.2.0

Upgrade to Magento 1.4.2.0 is complete and now you can proceed with upgrade to Magento 1.5.1.0 or 1.6.0.0 version.

Upgrade from Magento 1.4.2.0 to Magento 1.5.10 or Magento 1.6.0.0

Now you can upgrade your store to version 1.5 or 1.6.

Before proceeding with this part of Magento upgrade, it is very important to see to what version Magento upgrade scripts will upgrade your store. Enter this command to check this:

./mage list-upgrades

If you will see this result:

Updates for community:
Mage_All_Latest: 1.4.2.1 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Js_Mage: 1.4.2.0 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Varien: 1.4.2.0 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Phpseclib: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.0.0

It means that your Magento will be upgraded to version 1.6.0.0. If it is not what you need you can change upgrade channel to “stable” and upgrade your Magento to version 1.5.1.0.

6 – Enter this command to change the upgrade channel to stable:

./mage config-set preferred_state stable

After this the “./mage list-upgrades” command will show you this result:

Updates for community:
Mage_All_Latest: 1.4.2.1 => 1.5.1.0.1
Lib_Js_Mage: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Lib_Varien: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Lib_Phpseclib: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.0.0
Mage_Core_Adminhtml: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Mage_Core_Modules: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0

7 – After channel selection you can upgrade your Magento to 1.5.1.0 (or to Magento 1.6.0.0) using this command:

./mage upgrade-all –force

You will see upgraded packages on your screen:

…
Package upgraded: community/Mage_Locale_en_US 1.6.0.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_Mage 1.6.0.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_ZF 1.11.1.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_Js_Prototype 1.7.0.0.1
Package upgraded: community/Lib_ZF_Locale 1.11.1.0

Now the upgrade is complete and you can execute database upgrade visiting your Magento store in your browser. If everything was upgraded correctly, you will see upgraded store in your browser.

You can check version of your store in the footer of Magento administration panel.

Website design services | Joomla Website development | Web design Blog

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brianb421
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  196
Joined:  2009-04-23
 
zafardeveloper - 13 March 2012 01:17 AM

./mage upgrade-all –force

The code above has a typo in it, it should be:

./mage upgrade-all --force

Note: there are two hyphens - - (with no space inbetween them) before the word force

I used this on our site Dr Morter Supplements and it worked great.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brianb421
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  196
Joined:  2009-04-23
 

And thank you very much for the tutorial. It was very helpful.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KrisCoady
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2011-11-08
 

I followed the tutorial step by step and, no errors occurred during the upgrade. Yet, after the upgrade I can’t access the website anymore

HTTP Error 500 (Internal Server Error): An unexpected condition was encountered while the server was attempting to fulfill the request.

I’ve tried fixing permission on all files and folders, too.

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brianb421
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  196
Joined:  2009-04-23
 

For me, it took quite awhile for the database to update itself. We’re talking 3 hours at least. So if your database is still updating, your site won’t be accessible from my understanding during that time.

The database upgrade gets triggered the first time someone visits your site. Hopefully, you aren’t doing this on a live site, but if you are, you want to restrict access to your site so only you can access it. You can do this by putting this code in your new htaccess file.
(Remember that when you upgrade, your htaccess file gets overwritten)

In your new htaccess file, find:
Order allow,deny
Allow from all

And replace with:
#Order allow,deny
#Allow from all
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 192.168.1.1 #CHANGE THIS TO YOUR IP ADDRESS

If your database is done upgrading itself, then I’d suggest looking at these two other manuals for upgrading. The second also includes troubleshooting tips.

http://blog.nexcess.net/2011/03/11/upgrading-to-magento-1-5-0-1/
http://turnkeye.com/blog/magento-upgrade-guide/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KrisCoady
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2011-11-08
 

Thanks fpr the quick reply.

It\’s not a live site, it\’s a mirrored test environment. How can I see if the database is updating because I\’m getting the idea that it\’s doing nothing at all.

thanks for the documentation links.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brianb421
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  196
Joined:  2009-04-23
 

To be honest, I’m not sure how you see if the database is still updating.

When you moved the site over, did you remember to change the database name to your testing database in the Magento config file?

When I upgraded and went to the homepage, it had a Magento screen that popped up and the loading icon kept spinning for hours.

So I just went for a walk, had some dinner, and when I got back it was done loading, aka updating.

However, there was an error that occurred during the database upgrade, so I went through and did the second half of the upgrade again after I corrected my permissions.

Your error appears to be mentioned it that 2nd link I sent:

3 – Server error:

“Internal Server Error” instead of Magento storefront page or administration zone pages.

Most likely issue is connected with wrong permissions.

Fix this issue using these recursive commands:

find . -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;

I’m not sure if you do that before or after the upgrade. I would do it both times just to be sure and then try upgrading again.

Also, when you do successfully upgrade, look up how to set your permissions back to the correct settings.

This is actually the tuturial I followed the second time after the database didn’t update properly the first time:
http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/1_-_installation_and_configuration/magento_1.5_to_1.6_upgrade

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KrisCoady
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2011-11-08
 

I found that logging into mysql through ssh and using the command “show processes;” should return some info on running queries but the server seems pretty idle to me.

I didn’t just copy the site to the test area, btw. It’s been there for ages and works fine as a separate installation.

After running the upgrade and visiting the site it goes directly to the error page, no loading whatsoever. The strange thing is, when I make the cache directory unwritable and refresh the site I do get the appropriate error.

I tried changing the permissions with

find . -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;

but this didn’t fix anything either :(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brianb421
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  196
Joined:  2009-04-23
 

Oh, yes, you are on to something. I had to delete my var folder first. And then do the upgrades. Otherwise, it messes something up.

rm -rf var/cache/* var/session/*//tempend ?>

which was suggested in this tutorial:
http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/1_-_installation_and_configuration/magento_1.5_to_1.6_upgrade

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
KrisCoady
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  39
Joined:  2011-11-08
 

I just put back a backup of the site (which works like a charm). I\\\’m gonna retry the entire upgrade again now (including all your extra tips) and post the log here. Maybe we can find out what\\\’s going wrong then.

Standby for more of my spamming smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seputarsoftware
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-10-11
 

I¡¦ve been exploring intended for a little intended for whichever prominent quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled winning this website. Studying this in turn So i¡¦m cheery to exhibit with the purpose of I come up with a very exceptional weird feeling I found prohibited exactly pardon? I wanted. I so much undoubtedly will manufacture accurate to don¡¦t omit this maze spot and provide it a look on a constant basis. Sepeda Motor Bebek Injeksi Kencang dan Irit Jupiter Z1

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
scyeffect
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-11-18
 

aksesoris mobil dan alarm mobil

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mattb13
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2011-12-23
 

As soon as you make the brand new installation of Magento version you won’t do that manually, since it would take weeks if not months. The upgrading process is pretty solid, and you won’t be sure to check all the info while moving.  Of course, What you can do to move your database to the new Magento 1.5 or 1.6. is to use Cart2Cart service.
It now supports all the latest Magento versions.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
TRMMarketing
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  145
Joined:  2009-11-29
 

No reason to pay money to upgrade Magento if you are even the least bit web savy. The following URL has a nice step by step guide for upgrading.
E-Commerce Gorilla Magento Upgrade Guide

If you follow the steps exactly it should upgrade smoothly.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dedewiweka
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-12-21
 
zafardeveloper - 13 March 2012 01:17 AM
Lets imaging that you have Magento 1.4.1.1. web store and you need to upgrade it to 1.5. or 1.6 version. First of all it is highly recommended to backup your live store files and database.

Next you need to get SSH access from your hosting provider and connect to your server via SSH protocol. After connection via SSH go to your store folder and execute these commands:

1 – Change permissions on lib/pear folder to writable (recursively):

chmod -R 777 lib/PEAR

2 – Execute this command to prepare Magento for upgrade:

./pear mage-setup

Most likely you will see this result after command execution:

Channel “connect.magentocommerce.com/core” is already initialized

Upgrade from Magento 1.4.1.x to Magento 1.4.2.0

This step is necessary even if you upgrade your Magento store to 1.5 or 1.6 versions.

3 – Execute Magento upgrade command:

./pear upgrade -f magento-core/Mage_All_Latest-stable

Output of the command will show you what core packages were upgraded:

…
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Mage_Centinel-1.4.2.0
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Interface_Frontend_Base_Default-1.4.2.0
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Phoenix_Moneybookers-1.2.3
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Find_Feed-1.0.7
upgrade ok: channel://connect.magentocommerce.com/core/Interface_Adminhtml_Default-1.4.2.0

4 – When this part of the upgrade will be complete, enter these commands:

chmod 550 ./mage
./mage mage-setup .

You will see this result after command execution:

Successfully added: http://connect20.magentocommerce.com/community

It means that Magento connect 2.0 channel was added to the channels list successfully.

5 – Next, enter this command:

./mage sync

The result will be:

…
Successfully added: community/Mage_Locale_en_US-1.4.2.0
Successfully added: community/Interface_Install_Default-1.4.2.0
Successfully added: community/Phoenix_Moneybookers-1.2.3
Successfully added: community/Mage_Downloader-1.5.0.0
Successfully added: community/Lib_Google_Checkout-1.4.2.0

Upgrade to Magento 1.4.2.0 is complete and now you can proceed with upgrade to Magento 1.5.1.0 or 1.6.0.0 version.

Upgrade from Magento 1.4.2.0 to Magento 1.5.10 or Magento 1.6.0.0

Now you can upgrade your store to version 1.5 or 1.6.

Before proceeding with this part of Magento upgrade, it is very important to see to what version Magento upgrade scripts will upgrade your store. Enter this command to check this:

./mage list-upgrades

If you will see this result:

Updates for community:
Mage_All_Latest: 1.4.2.1 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Js_Mage: 1.4.2.0 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Varien: 1.4.2.0 => 1.6.0.0
Lib_Phpseclib: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.0.0

It means that your Magento will be upgraded to version 1.6.0.0. If it is not what you need you can change upgrade channel to “stable” and upgrade your Magento to version 1.5.1.0.

6 – Enter this command to change the upgrade channel to stable:

./mage config-set preferred_state stable

After this the “./mage list-upgrades” command will show you this result:

Updates for community:
Mage_All_Latest: 1.4.2.1 => 1.5.1.0.1
Lib_Js_Mage: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Lib_Varien: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Lib_Phpseclib: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.0.0
Mage_Core_Adminhtml: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0
Mage_Core_Modules: 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0

7 – After channel selection you can upgrade your Magento to 1.5.1.0 (or to Magento 1.6.0.0) using this command:

./mage upgrade-all –force

You will see upgraded packages on your screen:

…
Package upgraded: community/Mage_Locale_en_US 1.6.0.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_Mage 1.6.0.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_ZF 1.11.1.0
Package upgraded: community/Lib_Js_Prototype 1.7.0.0.1
Package upgraded: community/Lib_ZF_Locale 1.11.1.0

Now the upgrade is complete and you can execute database upgrade visiting your Magento store in your browser. If everything was upgraded correctly, you will see upgraded store in your browser.

You can check version of your store in the footer of Magento administration panel.

its agreat info thanks

Regards,
Perusahaan Asuransi Jiwa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vimalparihar
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2012-02-08
 

Hi,

You can refer this link for magento version update:

http://www.webslike.com/Thread-How-To-Upgrade-Version-In-Magento

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2