Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

imported product not seen under products
 
raidod
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-01-26
 

Hello,

I finally got import products working with xml but after successful import I can’t find imported product under the products.

Attached some images from my xml file and the import log.

What am I missing here?

Thanks,
Raido

Image Attachments
Capture1.JPGCapture2.JPG
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
choriz0
Member
 
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2011-10-18
 

Did you re-index?

I usually have to re-index after import to see the products on the front-end.

Try System ---> Index Management.

Select all and re-index.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
raidod
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-01-26
 

problem is that I can not see the imported products in the backend.

I think I am missing something here - maybe some field, value is wrong. All ideas are welcome.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
choriz0
Member
 
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2011-10-18
 

My best guess would be the visibility setting… you currently have it set to catalog instead of global.

I’m not 100% sure what the value would be (I would try global) but I import a large amount of products and I use MAGMI.

I would suggest taking a look at magmi and see its functionality, it provides the same import function as the native import tool, but much faster. The value in MAGMI would be 4, but as I said in your case try “global” or whatever you see on the back-end.

Hope this helps!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
EZAPPS
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  57
Joined:  2012-03-01
Vancouver Island
 

Head to your database and look in catalog_product_entity to see what they look like--compare them to the existing products. Make sure the entity_type_id, attribute_id and type_id settings are correct (errors here can make products not appear in the backend).

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
raidod
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-01-26
 

Thanks for the tips.

checked the database - its the first time that I saw my imported products.
in database:

entity_type_id = 4
attribute_id = 4
type_id = simple

Everything matches with the products that are available in backend.

What else can I check?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
raidod
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2012-01-26
 

Got it fixed after reading this thread: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/225342/

Added row to my xml exactly as below:

status
Enabled

Its was missing at first so all the products are in the database but don\’t show up in backend without the status enabled field.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
EZAPPS
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  57
Joined:  2012-03-01
Vancouver Island
 

Glad you got it fixed!

It can be frustrating when there are little things missing like this.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top