Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Upgrading 1.5.1.0 to 1.6.2.0

tipofloe

Total Posts:  23

Hello everyone,

I am developing a site based on 1.5.1.0.  I use Hostmonter, and they no longer support upgrades from 1.5.1.0 and beyond. 

I’ve tried the manual upgrade via SSH, which was a disaster. 

I’ve tried every possible solution there is out there, but I’m not a developer, and I don’t know much about the code.  I couldn’t even get the DB dump as per wiki due to so many error messages.  The SSH way of manual upgrade kept putting me on a message like “I must be running magento connect” despite sending in the command many times to run Magento Connect. 

So what I did was a fresh install of 1.6.2.0 and the tried to import the database that I’ve backed up via Magento tools - backup and use phpMyAdmin to import the database, but I get the following error message:

SQL query:

CREATE TABLE `mgn_directory_country_region` (

`region_id` MEDIUMINT( 8 ) UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT ,
`country_id` VARCHAR( 4 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT ‘0’,
`code` VARCHAR( 32 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT ‘’,
`default_name` VARCHAR( 255 ) DEFAULT NULL ,
PRIMARY KEY ( `region_id` ) ,
KEY `FK_REGION_COUNTRY` ( `country_id` )
) ENGINE = INNODB AUTO_INCREMENT =485 DEFAULT CHARSET = utf8 COMMENT = ‘Country regions’;

MySQL said:

#1005 - Can’t create table ‘cctvrepo_mgn1.mgn_directory_country_region’ (errno: 150) (Details...)

Again, this is what I have and I am desperately looking for solutions:

1.  was running 1.5.1.0 fine.
2.  DB is backed up using tools - backup in Magento admin
3.  deleted the entire 1.5.1.0 install