Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 4
[SOLVED!] Search on front end returns no results after upgrade 1.1.8 to 1.2.01
 
davidgrun
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  245
Joined:  2008-07-10
 

{EDITED}

When I make a search on the frontend I get no results after upgrade from 1.1.8 to 1.2.01. It doesn’t matter if I even copy-paste the name of the product and run the search.

SLUTION:

1. Manually clear you chache:
In you FTP client go to var/cache and delete all the directories there

2. Rebuild Search Index
In your admin panel (backend) go to System > Cache Management and click on ‘Rebuild’ (next to ‘Search Index’)

THANKS OR EVERYONES HELP!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andreladocruz
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-05-07
Brazil
 

same problem here!

no search results after upgrating from 1.1.8 to 1.2.0.1.

maybe the problem is similar to: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/27238/

Need help Urgent!

Regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andreladocruz
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-05-07
Brazil
 

just found that the problem only happens in mini search.

on advanced search it works fine.

regards.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kaijan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-12-21
 

same problem for me too

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rorschach
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-13
NYC
 

seems to me that the attribute search is broken for me in the attribute admin panel.  Ie, i enter an attribute code, hit search, and the button does nothing.  on a related note i also cant seem to move an attribute from an unassigned status to a group. 

my guess is that the changes to accomodate mysql fulltext search have broken things - just a guess? 

obviously this is a show stopping problem - cant create new attributes, etc.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rorschach
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-13
NYC
 

just attempted to reinstall 1.2.0.1 using “magento-core/Mage_All_Latest” command in the extension key field - some additional modules were downloaded and this *seems* to fix my issues with being unable to assign attributes and searches in the admin > attribute controller view

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rorschach
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-13
NYC
 

yeah - mini search still seems to be broken for me in 1.2.0.1

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andreladocruz
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-05-07
Brazil
 

just to remember that this is a very urgent issue!

we can not stay without mini search function.

regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
anatalsceo
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-04-03
 

I also manualy deleted the cache folder before doing this test.

the rebuild button in the cache managment helped me solve this issue.

system -> cache managment -> rebuild (search index)

Thanks for trying and let us know.

regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
andreladocruz
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-05-07
Brazil
 

@anatalsceo

Thanks!

Cleared the cache dir and rebuilt the search index and the mini search is now working!

regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GalerieGaertner
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-08-04
 

I’m having the same problems woith the mini-search,
but also i get
“Fatal error: Call to a member function setAttribute() on a non-object in .\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Eav\Model\Entity\Attribute\Abstract.php on line 351”
error message when trying to rebuild the search index in backend.
anyone else came across that?
another question: which cache Dir did you clean up? (’cause I found several ones...)
happy for any ideas..
regards!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jsperri
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2007-08-31
Fistufle
 

Well, [SOLVED] in the topic applies for the setups not having the setAttribute() error when rebuilding the search index.
Issue #9841 was entered about 2 days ago on the subject:
http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=4631

Let’s hope this error can be fixed quick, this is really annoying.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
anatalsceo
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-04-03
 

the var/cache dir must be empty before rebuiilding the search index.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pldtm
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  82
Joined:  2007-09-04
Bordeaux, France
 

+1

Build index on a fresh install give a blank page, and all the searches on frontend give no results (even advance search).

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
timpea
Member
 
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

Hi,

I am having problems with the Quick Search not finding any products that have visibility set as just Search, running 1.2.0.1, had no problems in 1.1.8.

I have tried deleting everything out of the cache folder, then rebuilt the search index, with no joy.

Thanks
Tim

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mbguy
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined:  2008-07-01
 

we have followed all recommendations and the rebuild search index still fails in all browsers. those of you that got it to work, can you please tell us what operating system and web browser you used?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 4