Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

multiple stores across multiple domains, ips, etc
 
st_nick
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-12-28
 

I’ve spend an evening reading thru all the posts I can find and watching webinars etc, but the one question I cannot seem to find an answer to is the following:

when chaging the code in index.php all the examples show the use of a bit of code, basically “../” to change directory, however my sites are set up on a reseller account with my host

i have tried replacing “../app/Mage.php” with the direct path “http://www.domain.co.uk/shop/app/Mage.php” and all I get is the message that http://www.domain.co.uk/shop/app/Mage.php was not found, any ideas and pointing in right direction greatly appreciated!

Nick

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Damian Culotta
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  878
Joined:  2008-12-10
Argentina
 

Try to know wich is the absolute path of your fisrt host.
You can try with some php function like $_SERVER[’document_root’].
Then, in your second host, add that path.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
st_nick
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-12-28
 

Hi Damian

Thanks for the reply, but as I understand it your responce assumes that both are physically on the same host, since they are not a relative path will not work, have tried just to make sure, I need to acutally be able to quote the full source url

the main site is at http://www.domain.co.uk/shop/

the second site is at http://www.domain2.co.uk/shop and the two domains are not hosted on the same account or the same computer

Nick

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Damian Culotta
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  878
Joined:  2008-12-10
Argentina
 

You’re right, I assume that your two domains are on the same server.
I’m not sure if you can use the same implementation for two hosts, each one on different servers.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
st_nick
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-12-28
 

I can’t see why you shouldn’t be able too

N

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
st_nick
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-12-28
 

they are all with the same hosting company, i have a reseller account that gives me seperate ip’s for each domain as part of the deal, but each domain has to be set up as a different account

its 6 of one and half a dozen of the other but the ease of obtaining >10 ip addresses at no extra charge is rather benefitial!

N

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Damian Culotta
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  878
Joined:  2008-12-10
Argentina
 

@st_nick

Because you can’t read files (php files before it’s executed) from another host, specially from remote hosts.
If you got all the files in the same server, it’s possible to configure one host to use files from another (there are security issues that you need to talk with your hosting provider), but isn’t possible from one server to another.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top