Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
How do I put Postcode Ranges into tablerates.csv file? 
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Hi,

I am trying to make a tablerates.csv file for weight vs destination.

For eg if my postcodes are 3199 and 3201 i can put the single rates in there for these no problems.

Now what happens when I want to have 3000-3199 as one range of postcodes and 3200-3999 as the other range of postcodes?

Does this mean I have to make an entry for each postcode or is there some shortcut to defining a range for the Postcode?

I have tried 3000-3199 3000,3199 3000..3199 to no avail.

Can anyone please help?

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

any ideas?

anyone?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Hi.

Anyone got any ideas?  I really need this solved before I can release the site.

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Can someone help please?  This is mission critical here.

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Still looking for an answer, If i find it i will post it here

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

Vaxvax69,
Sounds like you are in Australia too. wink

The bad news is that the standard tablerate shipping module won’t do what you want.

The good news is that this very handy little extension: http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/604/auctionmaid-matrixrate
is currently being modded by the very helpful author to include the very feature you are asking about.
This is happening after I approached her about extending the features of MatrixRate (which already enhances tablerate significantly)

Karen suggested that that she would have a new version for me to test around the end of the week (like, now-ish), so I hope to report some good news soon.

Keep your eye on the extension page above for news.

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Hi,

Yep I am in Australia as well.  Thanks for the heads up.  If you get your site to work with it please let me know as this is causing real problems for us here.

Regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

I’m very confident that this will work just fine.
Karen has been very responsive, and seems a very capable programmer.

I specifically want to offer freight options like AusPost Express Post Satchels - which (as you know) have a limited range of post codes in each state.

Stay tuned, and bump this thread in a week or so if you haven’t heard anything by then.

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
EskimoNinja
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-01-20
 

I’m very interested in this too, has any progress been made?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

Still en route Eskimo, patience… shouldn’t be long now wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Hi,

Yep I am still waiting too grin

Now only if I could find a “Request for Quote” shipping module then I would be happy.  As we sell some rather large items I would like to give the customer the option to request a quote for their shipping as often you can combine multiple items.

I know Zen Cart and OS Commerce had one but it is strange that Magento has no such option.

Regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

I too have a need for customers to request a quote - so I just use the ‘Free shipping’ module built in to Magento, and changing the wording the module displays in the cart to read “Quote for freight”.
Then, when all the other freight options are not offered (due to the weight of the large orders), that is the only freight option presented.

Don’t know if that help you in your situation…

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Hi,

Sounds like that Request For Quote idea might be a winner.  Where do you modify the working for the module or is it something simple like in the admin panel (as I havent looked yet grin )

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

In the Admin panel. A no-brainer. wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vaxvax69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-12-07
 

Yeah DOH!

I should have looked but being at work I cant spend too much time playing with magento here.

Thanks, will look at it when i get home.

Regards,

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

That’s cool - didn’t mean to suggest that you were a ‘no-brainer’ wink But rather that the change to the text is. wink

Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2