Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Different layout for grouped products via Custom Layout Update in Admin (Please Help)

len3121

Total Posts:  35

I am not a programmer, just a shop owner with some limited programming knowledge gained via forums and testing on my dev sites over the years. I really like Magento and its possiblities and am setting up an alternate shop so I can do a sort of A/B testing with my existing Virtuemart store to see what my customers prefer.

Using these forums I was able to figure out how to change the way Grouped Items show up on the product page by altering the view.phtml & grouped.phtml files and placing them in the appropriate folder in /app/design/frontend/default/my_theme/.... However, all the changes I have made to the view.phtml file now also apply to all other product types (simple, bundled etc)

I attempted renaming view.phtml file to 2view.phtml in my folder structure and added a custom layout update in the Design section of the grouped product I want it to apply the change to by using the following code:

<reference name="content">
            <
block type="catalog/product_view" name="product.info" template="catalog/product/2view.phtml">
</
reference>
which if I have read the forums correctly should call the 2view.phtml file for this particular piece, but I get the following error
Warningsimplexml_load_string() [function.simplexml-load-string]Entityline 445parser error Opening and ending tag mismatchblock line 444 and reference  in /home/relicons/domains/relicons.com/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Layout/Update.php on line 235