Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Problem which never got solved! 
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

When we try to upgrade any of the old Magento like 1.2 or 1.3 to 1.6.x , it never goes through.

The installation screen runs for a while and then it starts throwing out errors like, tabe exists or sql version number upgrade resourcedb, etc .

You know, what Im talking about.

What I did was, I dropped the core_resource table from the db and brought that table from a fresh core_resource db and imported.

Now, the installation went fine and there were no errors.

Frontend and backend both opened fine.

But another issue came up!
The admin login completely stopped working.

If I enter the right logins, it redirects me back to the same login page.

So, what is missing now ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Did you try removing your local.xml and creating a new admin login?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Yes did it.

Check here,

http://www.photozone.in/index.php/admin/

Username : monali
Password : qubesys123

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

And here is another serious issue.

The database repair tool doesnt work anymore.

May be, you need to take this notice to the core Magento team.

Lets say, here I had a 1.3.2.4 database corrupt database and a fresh 1.6.1 as reference .
When I clicked NEXT, it showed the whole list about that db version upgrades on that core_resource table, but on clicking, it shows NOTHING TO REPAIR.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Anyone faced similar issue ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Magento will not support anything that is older than 1.4 now, unless you are upgrading to Enterprise.

I am not sure why you had to truncate you core_resource table?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Okay, I was always getting the error that error on that x.xx-x.xx.mysql4.php for resourcedb (x.xx.x,1.6.1.0) etc.

So, I thought of replacing that table with a fresh 1.6 data table and it worked good then.

Site coming up, admin coming up.

But just not able to login to admin.

Cant trace whats wrong no.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Did you have a custom URL for Admin?

Did you check to make sure the store was enabled for Admin?

Is this on your local or a live server?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Its live,

http://www.photozone.in/index.php/admin/

Username : monali
Password : qubesys123

NO custom URL. Its set to admin only.

And how do I check, if store is enabled for the admin ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Is it a fresh install of 1.6 or an upgrade?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Fresh 1.6 pack.

Database details were of 1.3.2.4 database, so installation screen went for 1.5 hours, since the database is of 513MB.

And then that error came up.

So, upgraded site, yes.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Brent W Peterson
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3217
Joined:  2009-02-26
Minneapolis MN
 

Clean database allows you to login in the site? What I am saying is that you ruled out the Magento code and it has to be something in the database.

I would check core_store and core_website to make sure they are enabled.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Ok, all I did was truncate core_resource and import clean core_resource from a 1.6.1 website.

Nothing else.

IT was the simple upgrade process only.

Ok, let me check my core_store and core_website table .

What do I look for exactly in there ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Here is what I get :

My core_store and core_website tables :

http://cl.ly/0C1G3Z0X3C2T2y3z2C2Z

and

http://cl.ly/1M0W1Z280C320Q2K0y45

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

Just compared to a 1.6 db table and I see, its same.

So, doesnt seem like a problem from this.
Do you suggest, trying to run the upgrade commands on SSH, on this 1.6 installation, so if anything was not patched would do it ?

What say ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MageClub
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  386
Joined:  2009-07-25
India
 

You checked it mate ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2