Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How do I display a product without ability to purchase? 
 
Devo9er
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2010-12-30
 

Aside from making a bunch of static pages, is there a way to dynamically pull in my products and hide the add to cart and price information? Thank you!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

admin > system > configuration > advanced

There you can turn functionality off and on.

Be careful and read up though before you turn anything off. And your templates may require changing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Amasty
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3988
Joined:  2009-11-10
 

Also you can mare the products as “out of stock” and show custom message, like “Call us for details” with help of the Custom Stock Status addon.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chadjmorgan
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2010-06-04
Michigan
 
Devo9er - 21 October 2011 05:21 AM

Aside from making a bunch of static pages, is there a way to dynamically pull in my products and hide the add to cart and price information? Thank you!

Hello,

You may be interested in my Disable Purchase extension. It can disable purchasing certain products at the product level, and also display a custom message in place of the add to cart button.

Let me know if you have any questions!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Devo9er
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2010-12-30
 

Both Addons look great, just surprised there isn’t a way to do it without an addon.  Seems like a pretty common function people would want to use. Thanks guys, I’ll consider

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 
Devo9er - 24 October 2011 04:52 AM

Both Addons look great, just surprised there isn’t a way to do it without an addon.  Seems like a pretty common function people would want to use. Thanks guys, I’ll consider

there is a way to do it - see my post above:

admin > system > configuration > advanced

There you can turn functionality off and on.

Be careful and read up though before you turn anything off. And your templates may require changing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Devo9er
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2010-12-30
 
golles - 24 October 2011 05:39 AM

Devo9er - 24 October 2011 04:52 AM
Both Addons look great, just surprised there isn’t a way to do it without an addon.  Seems like a pretty common function people would want to use. Thanks guys, I’ll consider

there is a way to do it - see my post above:

admin > system > configuration > advanced

There you can turn functionality off and on.

Be careful and read up though before you turn anything off. And your templates may require changing.

Yeah Thanks - I assume you’re talking about the disable modules output? I’m having trouble finding more in depth information on how this area works, any more insight?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bretjg
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  40
Joined:  2009-07-06
Denver
 

If this change is permanent and for all products you can either:

1. Remove the button and price from the product view template file
2. Hide the button and price using css display none

If this is only for certain products create an custom yes/no attribute (e.g. Not Saleable) and in the template files write a conditional statement that checks to see if the Not Saleable attribute is set to yes and if so do not show the button and price.

Bret

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FMEExtensions
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1298
Joined:  2009-08-07
 

You can have a look at the Custom Stock Labels extension by FME

http://www.magentocommerce.com/magento-connect/custom-stock-labels-6045.html

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top